Reflect and Resolve.

A very Happy New Year from StyleOntheCouch!  Seeing as I’m temporarily up on the fifth floor somewhere in Manhattan waiting to move into my permanent apartment, the street photos will have to wait until next week.  You can however see the lights of the Chrysler Building twinkling in the window on the left in the first photo below, the view being a constant reminder I’m actually in Manhattan, which so far I love.

I wanted to post this, my NYE outfit, as I bought this blue dress from COS just before I left the UK (one present for you, one present for me mentality) and I decided it would get an outing on my first proper night out in NYC.  The rest of my clothes are hopelessly crumpled from my suitcases, I’ve got a weeks worth of ironing ahead of me….

I’ve raved about COS on the blog before but their new season designs have such great cut and shape: my top recommendations along with this ‘dress with fold detail’ are the ‘knitted dress’ in blue with black spots and the ‘wool dress’ in black.

http://www.cosstores.com/gb/site/home__start.nhtml

I had a lovely new year’s eve in a restaurant at the base of my building, a good move considering that heels+snow+slush=not a good mix.  So far I haven’t done well on the finding-new-fashions front, all my time has been taken up with finding furniture for the new apartment, but I do have some great sales bargains to post in the coming weeks whilst I get to know the Manhattan stores. Any suggestions, blog reader, let me know!

Here’s to a fashionable, stylish 2011 X

*extreme ‘posed’ photo alert due to lighting effects with the camera and tripod inside.  Normal photo service resumes when I make it down to the street level.

This entry was posted in COS, Manhattan, NYC, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Reflect and Resolve.

  1. cam says:

    beautiful lovely lady…as always sweets! wishing you all the best and may all your wishes and dreams come true in wonderful NYC! when I drop by there someday again..we need to hook up! 😉 Happy New Years! xoxo

    http://some-kind-of-style.blogspot.com/

  2. I love Cos – I was in one of their stores awhile back and vowed to buy more of their classic pieces in 2011! Happy New Year and best wishes for your year ahead in NYC! Can’t wait to see your photos. NHG x

  3. Style Souk says:

    This is such a beautifully classic look! Very Hepburn…

    My tummy somersaulted with excitement (and longing!) on sighting the Chrysler Building! I adore New York and can only imagine how wonderful it must be to commence a new stage of life there.

    Happy New Year, my newly-found (and very glamorous) friend. May it bring you every contentment and success! :0)

    Sarah x

  4. Milla says:

    You’re going to laugh: I know that dress!!! Bringing chic European style to Manhattan – that’s my girl!

    Happy New Year my darling New Yorker!! As I have told you many times, I’m so happy for you and just know that this year is going to be amazing for you and your fabulous wardrobe (lucky us!).

    Stay fab, stay gorgeous and for goodness sakes, don’t lose your accent!!

    xx

  5. stylemefab says:

    Happy new year!! you`re so lucky to be in NY, hope i can travel there one day. ….your LBD is gorgeous. Does it have a zip at the back or the side…just curious.

  6. Lissy says:

    Congrats on your move! I’m a Bostonian who makes frequent trips to NYC. One of my very favorite shops is Cadillac’s Castle on E 9th St btw 1st and 2nd. They have a great selection of new current season designer clothes for much less than you’d pay elsewhere plus they have a very well edited selection of consignment pieces.

  7. carly says:

    Beautiful as always…
    Love the gathering detail on the left side of the dress….unexpected and fabulous!
    Good luck get settled:)
    C

  8. Leah says:

    Good Luck with the move! Lucky Manhattan Girl! Happy New Year.

    http://www.oldsoulyoungspirits.com

Leave a Reply

