Pink Pleats.

Pleats are set to be big for SS2011.  On the catwalk many designers showed pleats that added detail as well as volume to their designs whilst retaining a feminine and classic look.  Erdem and Lanvin were my favourite examples of this, with Derek Lam a notable second.

I find it quite difficult to wear pleats well, mainly because they do add volume and create bulk and getting this to happen in the right places is tricky.  I lean towards dresses rather than skirts because then the designer has thought about proportion for me already!  I’ve seen a lot of short skirts with pleating in the shops but I lean towards longer lengths.  I recently bought an ivory chiffon dress with pleats on Ebay that was midi skirt length – this should see me wearing two “trends” in one this summer (I talk so often about “trends” but I forget to remind my readers again and again that you need to buy what works for you and suits your shape.  Check out this article written by a fellow blogger I was fortunate to meet in NYC recently: http://everydayglamour.wordpress.com/2010/03/23/accentuate-the-assets/)

The dress in my post here is from French Connection.  It is a gorgeous pale pink colour that I am learning to embrace, (did you see some of the amazing nude, pink and peach coloured gowns worn to the Golden Globe awards, like Emma Jones’ frock?)  With this dress I also like the way the paleness of my skin seems to work against it.  I feel I should pirouette in it, but I guess I shall settle for dinner and cocktails with the girls instead….

Wearing: Dress by French Connection.  Shoes, Dorothy Perkins as before.  Clutch from Debenhams.

This entry was posted in Ballet, Dorothy Perkins, Ebay, French Connection, Pleats. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Pink Pleats.

  1. everydayglamour says:

    Simply beautiful! And yes, this dress works beautifully for you. Thank you for the link! It was so great meeting you, (and the wine and cheese didn’t hurt), looking forward to seeing you again! 🙂

  2. samreen says:

    I really love the dress and the shoes look amazing!

    • Samreen I have those shoes in black as well as nude. They cost me £35 and I wear them every evening out (when I don’t have to walk too far, admittedly!) when I want to feel glam… x

  3. cupcake says:

    Such a pretty colour on you! I think most women think that way about pleats (I look fat) but to see it on someone with a fitted bottice and full skirt is ultra fem.
    Cupcake
    xo

  4. Milla says:

    10/10. Fabulous!!!

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention Pink Pleats. | -- Topsy.com

  6. Patricia says:

    Love the detail on the dress and it really suits you! but i’m a gal for either black, white or bright colours. . somehow i can’t reallly see myself wearing that shade .. and not sure i need the extra bulk either 🙂 but on you it’s perfect .. and you also deserve loads of points for braving the cold!!

  7. Ritournelle says:

    What a beautiful color! I didn’t like nude until the collection John Galliano designed for Dior a few years ago; do you see which one I’m talking about? It’s so refined.

  8. What a beautiful feminine dress. Gorgeous!!!

  9. Carly says:

    Love the dress. I actually am a big fan of pleats….and volume to the skirt of a dress. Feels so fem and pretty.
    You look beautiful as always…the shoes are perfection…infact it is almost like you aren’t wearing any and your legs go on for miles.
    C

Leave a Reply

