Come Fly With Me.

Although I’m not seeing as many capes around now as I did last year, I’m still really fond of any item of clothing with a ‘caped’ element to it.  Twitter followers from last year will remember I agonised over the purchase of a caped jacket from Reiss, which I featured in my Look of Today… series and now I’m still on the lookout for a caped coat.  I love the AQUA jacket below but have I missed the boat with this style? Is anyone still wearing their capes from last year or are they back in the rear of your wardrobes, never glimpsing sunlight?

If you like a style that is “out of fashion” but you think suits you, should you still buy it?

The dress in this post was another of my purchases from the ASOS winter sale before I left England.  I think it’s a cute dress (someone told me this word “cute” in America means sexy, here I am using its English meaning: delightful, dainty etc) to wear over jeans, tights (hose? See I’m a-learning America) or on it’s own.  The photo above was taken in Central Park, Manhattan last Friday when the weather was almost Spring like and I took a beautiful walk around the meadows and lakes.  I love its versatility and, obviously, the cape detail on the back.  I’ve included some other “caped” items below.

Wearing: Top picture: Dress and skinny jeans both from ASOS.  Sunglasses, Fendi.  Boots, Dune.  Picture below: Dress as before.  Tights Marks and Spencers.  Shoes Dorothy Perkins.

Pictures below, clockwise from top left: Alberta Ferretti feather cape from NetaPorter; Clear cape coat by TopShop; AQUA cape dress and cape coat.

This entry was posted in ASOS, boots, Cape, Dorothy Perkins, Dress, dune, Fendi, look of today, Reiss. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Come Fly With Me.

  1. Cupcake says:

    Yes, if you love it you should indulge. Great shot on the bench (you’re so brave for fashion).
    Cupcake
    xo

  2. Hannah Chan says:

    Morning! IMHO you should wear anything that you love regardless as to what is in fashion. Wear what you love, wear what suits you. That is part of what makes you, you! You never know, you may even start a trend.

  3. stylemefab says:

    Wow..that first one looks like a post card, the scenery is gorgeous and the outfit is perfect!!

  4. Carly says:

    awesome shot on the bench…and those BOOTS are fantastic.
    love it.
    C

  5. noelani says:

    Really? I wouldn’t equate cute with sexy?! Maybe it’s an age thing though and the younger generation uses it in this way? Haha, then we have both been using it improperly for quite some time. I think your use of the word is perfectly applied (i.e delightful and/or dainty). I also still like the cape trend. Not too late to jump on. I just indulged in a cute leopard version from topshop last month and I think it was money well spent. I will definitely be wearing it for years to come.

  6. I still buy it!
    Then I mix it with other outfit that will looks amazing ❤
    Be your self on fashion and never be ashamed if your outfit is "out of fashion" or come from a secondhand/thrift stores

    Just be creative to mix it all

    ♥ sugarpuff ♥
    Pinkie Anggia ☺
    http://pinkieanggia.tumblr.com

  7. Love the cape detail on your dress!! I think if you love something, by all means make it your signature!! And capes are very glamorous!!!! And glamour is ALWAYS good, I say! xoxo

  8. Ritournelle says:

    I wouldn’t say you shouldn’t wear things that are out of fashion if you enjoy them and feel comfortable. Unless we are talking 1960s hippy dresses, 1980s shoulder pads or 1990s ripped jeans…

Leave a Reply

