I Love My Postcode. (Coney Island Adventures Part I).

One of the suggestions following my “Homesick??” post was from Rachel of ilovemypostcode, a UK based fabric handprinting company.  She urged me to wear and play around in the tee I had printed up with my old London postcode before I left England, as a way of connecting with home again.  I don’t know if it is the same in America, but I think Londoners often feel quite proud of their postcode district, our postcodes being something that marks our local area’s identity and qualities – good and bad!  Postcodes are often coveted – as a psychologist I wanted a London NW3 postcode, home to the Freud Museum – and I am quite sure one of my favourite blogs is quite proud of her postcode, she named her blog after her London area, after all.

There is a very cute story about the inception of Rachel’s business on her website:

“Way back in the early noughties we moved to London and as a parting gift with old friends, swapped handmade t-shirts lovingly emblazoned with postcodes. They were reminders of where we’d been and good luck tokens for where we were headed.
Somehow living in one of the biggest cities in the world made us even more aware of the neighborhoods around us. We were lucky enough to live in some really cool neighbourhoods, all of which inspired us to keep making postcode t-shirts for ourselves and our friends.
Then we scratched our heads and thought, if we love our postcode t-shirts then you might too. And I Love My Postcode was born!”

Rachel handprints all her clothing in her London (W12) studio.  She also recently teamed up with designer Laura Gravestock on jewellery for the site.

I had a lot of fun on Coney Island running around on the beach with my printed t-shirt. Homesickeness cured.  (Embracing the hot dog helped…)  Excellent suggestion Rachel!

Wearing: T-Shirt from ilovemypostcode; jeans, ASOS.  Trainers, converse.  Sunglasses, TopShop.

This entry was posted in ASOS, converse, ilovemypostcode, NYC, TopShop. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Love My Postcode. (Coney Island Adventures Part I).

  1. What a great idea – Although somehow my Dorset/Hampshire border postcode won’t translate quite as well! Great photos! xxx

  2. Ritournelle says:

    I’m surprised to see how un-ladylike your look is compared to your usual posts 😉
    I love how postcodes, arrondissements and areas are supposed to determine your lifestyle, personality and style, whether in London, Paris or New York!

  3. CinZilicious says:

    Very sweet and creative idea for a tee!!! Hope it cures your home sick blues….:)

    Cinz
    http://cinzee.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

