Sketched On The Couch.

As time moves on, my blog continues to change and develop.  I’ve been putting a lot of energy into StyleOnTheCouch of late, writing more posts about NYC places to visit, things to do and see and about the people I am fortunate to meet, whilst including more personal style images than ever before.  This injection of energy deserves a little something, I felt, a gift to myself… so I enlisted the artistic talents of fashion illustrator Jaqueline Fryers to re-vamp the look of StyleOnTheCouch by designing a new banner.

Jaqueline’s “brief” was to create a new sketch for me based loosely on my Twitter background.  Despite giving her very little direction at all for the artwork, she used her imagination perfectly to conjure up images that I am delighted with.  I really hope you like the new designs as much as I do (I have a few variations to choose from – you might tell me which you like best?):

I asked Jaqueline to tell me a little about herself and her design business, to share with you, Blog Reader:

“After graduating in Fashion Design in 2006 I moved to London for 4 years and worked as a stylist for Net-a-porter.com. It was here that I met Emily Jerman, a freelance stylist and personal shopper.  She was starting her own website and was looking for an illustrator to supply images for her trend reports. I offered to help out and from there requests snowballed from links within the industry. In 2011 I made the decision to step back from styling and turn my part-time drawings into a career. I now run Jacks Club from home full time. I spend my time developing my style and promoting my work. Its early days but I’ve been lucky enough to have been asked to be involved in some exciting projects. The next step is to get my website up and running and add to my client list!”

Do check out her blog if you have time.  I’m also a huge fan of her friend Emily’s styling work – you can follow both Jaqueline and Emily Jerman on Twitter.

A transformation is occurring for StyleOnTheCouch….

“The word: “Action!” frees me.  The transformation is something I cannot explain – too much analysis might destroy it”– Sophia Loren


This entry was posted in Fashion Illustration. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Sketched On The Couch.

  1. lissy says:

    Love love love it! How super fabulous! I think they are all so lovely but I would choose the one on the couch as it’s just perfect.

  2. Dempeaux says:

    I really love it. A simple design that builds on your existing images – great work Jaqueline! I like the one with the couch in particular 🙂

  3. jennyphoria says:

    These are great! I think I like the one on the couch the best. Very cute and I’ve never seen a logo like it. Fabulous.

  4. Ritournelle says:

    You have been noticeably more active on the blog front! It’s wonderful to see how it’s developing so well 😉
    About the new headers, I love the illustrations but like the commentors above I do think a couch is missing near the name of the blog.

  5. everydayglamour says:

    How exciting for you! Great illustrations. I’m interested in seeing what you choose! 🙂

  6. Mariah says:

    Love it! Especially your rosy cheeks!

  7. Hi sweetie! Love your header – how fun! So very exciting to get a new design going! Looking forward to your blog posts and I’m off to list you on my blog roll! 😉 Have a perfectly wonderful week!!

  8. GORGEOUS!! I absolutely ADDDDDORE!

  9. #1 is my favorite. Don’t be surprised if I enlist her to redesign my banner, too. She’s amazing!!!

  10. stylemefab says:

    S. I love love the new design. the rosy cheeks, the dress, the shoes. i love the one with the writing, and the couch…perfect!!

  11. Krista says:

    Lovely work & beautiful interpretation of you! I like the one you have in the header already. The pose on the couch & soft coloring is beautiful.

  12. CinZilicious says:

    To be honest…..i’m loving them all!!!!! But if i had to choose, it would be the one on the couch:) Her illustrations are absolutely amazing!!!

    Cinz
    http://cinzee.wordpress.com

  13. can’t wait to see what you come up with!!!

  14. Style Souk says:

    Oh my goodness, your blog and these illustrations are both so exquisitely beautiful and witty…

    This might sound peculiar – given their absence of facial features, ha ha! – but the drawings are completely in your likeness. I really do love them!

    Sarah x

    P.S: I wanted to thank you for being such a sweetheart since Napoleon’s accident.

    Your messages have been incredibly kind and – if you have the time to read my tediously florid ramblings! – I wanted to thank you properly by email. Would that be okay? :0)

  15. Marissa says:

    I love, love, love the new banner! What a talented illustrator!

  16. LOVE it! Jaqueline has really captured you wonderfully. The rosy cheeks are the icing on the cake 🙂 NHG x

    P.S Between Milla’s new design and now yours, I am itching to update my blog design. Really wish I had of gone with wordpress instead of blogger!

    http://nottinghillgirl.blogspot.com/

    • I think your design is just great… but I changed from blogger (fashiononthecouch) to wordpress (styleonthecouch) easily so it can be done…. if you are still thinking? I do find wordpress easier to use…

  17. Love these illustrations – so lovely xxxxx

  18. Milla says:

    As I already said: LOVE IT!!!! So you, so gorgeous, so fabulous!

    x

  19. LOVE it! What a talent she is and what a fabulous looking blog you now have! 😀

  20. agirlastyle says:

    Gorgeous! I love the one you’ve gone with (you sitting on the couch, appropriately) the best!

    Briony xx

  21. noelani says:

    Is the current pick the final? Definitely what I would have gone with as well- stick with your “brand”. You have been devoting more time to the blog lately and it really has shown. Revamping the look, really thoughtful and thought provoking posts generate more thoughtful comments. Love seeing the changes and all your adventures.

  22. Kirsty Murton says:

    Good work Badger Jaq!!!!!

  23. cupcake says:

    OMG I LOVE IT!!! Really love it! It looks so sweet and she looks like you. Well done Sarah!
    Cupcake
    xo

    • Thank you Cupcake! She is a very talented illustrator, she took the Twitter image and went from there with little direction from me at all! Nice to have a bit of a re-vamp – thanks for visiting, as always x

Leave a Reply

