La Perla Ready To Wear.

Back in February I was lucky enough to win a V.I.P shopping experience at La Perla‘s Madison Avenue boutique in Manhattan *squeals with delight*.  The lovely ladies assisting me in store helped me locate some gorgeous lingerie that was a perfect fit for my shape and so I came away with not only some delightful free gifts (including a bottle of j’aime la nuit perfume) but a few treats pour moi.

During the experience I leaned that La Perla had a ready to wear (RTW) collection.  This was a surprise to me, but a quick search on Vogue indeed revealed some pictures of previous collections, my favourite being Spring/Summer 2009 – Alessandro Dell’Acqua’s final year of designing for the Italian brand.  Looking at the pictures I felt that Dell’ Acqua had transformed the brand beyond the bedroom which was an achievement, yet retained something of the seductive feel of La Perla, which was important.

La Perla recently revealed illustrations of their Spring 2011 RTW range, sadly not yet available to buy online but sold in their boutiques.  I really want to check the range out to explore this unique side of one of my favourite lingerie brands.  It also got me thinking about my recent purchases and on a night out this weekend I wore my La Perla garter belt over the top of a white stretch dress, for a little waist-cinching-and-lace-and-monochrome styling.  I’m a little nervous about posting this look, as I like it, but you may have other thoughts on underwear as outerwear, Blog Reader… It was a big “trend” last summer – did you embrace it?  Do you have any thoughts on RTW from lingerie brands like La Perla?

Wearing: Dress from French Connection; Clutch purse from ASOS.  Shoes from Dorothy Perkins.  Garter belt (worn as belt) from the La Perla ‘Vintage Plisse‘ range.

Images below reproduced with kind permission from La Perla.

This entry was posted in Dorothy Perkins, Dress, Fashion Illustration, French Connection, La Perla, lace, lingerie. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to La Perla Ready To Wear.

  1. Marissa says:

    What an amazing prize to win! I’ve come to accept the fact that I will not own any La Perla until I have a bridal shower, if ever. I never would have known that was a garter belt and not made as a waist belt.

  2. What a great look! I love how you wore this garter belt as a belt, it looks so chic with this French Connection dress!

    In answer to your question on my post: yes, the Zara wedges are very comfortable! 🙂

    X

  3. lissy says:

    You look great! And you are not alone on the innerwear as outerwear trend. Do you read the Man Repeller? (and this is not to imply that you look in the least bit man repelling. http://www.manrepeller.com/2011/03/emerging-trend-innerwear-as-outerwear.html

  4. Patricia says:

    Fabulous look! I absolutely love it and it suits you to perfection! I would definitely wear it if I had such a tiny waist!

  5. What a gorgeous dress. It looks like it’s made for you!

  6. Dempeaux says:

    I love this look. It actually reminds me of this Karen Millen dress http://www.fashiolista.com/item/168419/ from last season. It makes your waist look amazing, and gives the dress even more femininity in an instant. 🙂

  7. Cara Gray says:

    One word – STUNNING! You look absolutely amazing hun. xx

  8. - Tessa says:

    Lovely – I think you should try it with some more dresses!

  9. Mariah says:

    LOVE this! Elegance with an edge, especially if you know it’s a garter belt. Love the cap sleeve on the dress — darling!

  10. Aggie says:

    I LOVE that belt! It really brings the whole outfit together 😉

  11. Ritournelle says:

    This looks gorgeous! I remember seeing an ed in French Elle with the collection Jean Paul Gaultier designed for La Perla and his suggestions to wear them under and over your regular clothes. I thought it was a little to racey and unpractical, but no such thing with you. The garter belt looks more like a refined detail of the dress or an elaborate belt than a lingerie item for a very classy and chic result. I wouldn’t be afraid to go out like this if I were you!

    • That Gaultier range flew out of the La Perla stores. I just loved the bodysuits, but sadly none were left when I went for my experience, to try them on. I really hope he collaborates again. Glad you approve of the look! x

  12. Ava says:

    That’s a really cute way of incorporating lingerie into outerwear that hadn’t occurred to me before. Usually all you see is people layering bras with sheer shirts. I may have to experiment with this look 😉

  13. I think that dress is STUNNING. I love it. Wear it everyday 🙂
    p.s. thank you for your sweet note on twitter, I love and appreciate you visiting me as well!

  14. cupcake says:

    Beautiful and fem!
    Cupcake
    (by the way your header and artwork are too sweet for words…I left a comment below on the blog change post)
    xo

  15. CinZilicious says:

    omg, u look soooooooooooo BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i love how the dress fits your body like a glove and that lace detail is sooo sexy!!!:D

    And i simply adore those illustrations from La Perla~ i can see why you’re excited about their collection:)

    p.s. love your new header!!

    Cinz
    http://cinzee.wordpress.com

  16. No need to be nervous about posting – it looks fab, you have a great eye for stylish touches! This is why I love the world of blogging SO much. You get to see other peoples ideas and inspirations in an instant. And love that dress.. it screams summer. xxx

    • I bought that dress in black then decided to go back for the white, in the meantime it was featured on Gok Wan’s fashion fix and I had such trouble buying the white…! In the end I found it. Glad you like it, good old French Connection…

  17. Milla says:

    I literally said “wow” when I clicked on. This sophisticated look is so you. Really nice.

    x

  18. styleless says:

    You are so pretty!

  19. Amazing ! You had a very good idea !

  20. everydayglamour says:

    OMG, OMG, that is seriously insane!! I LOVE it! As soon as I saw the pic, I was dying to know where you got that belt! That outfit is hot.

  21. Apryle says:

    The garter belt is GENIUS!!! How beautiful. To win a La Perla spree is unheard of- lucky girl!!

  22. OMG! Love it! Gosh, you are such a babe!

    Bisous!
    LCT

Leave a Reply

