That 70s Show.

I’m cursing myself for throwing out two pairs of flared jeans that I found at the bottom of my wardrobe when I moved from London to Manhattan.  Flares along with 70s influences are everywhere – and actually I had forgotten just how flattering the flared trouser shape could be.  My ‘replacement’ jeans, which I have been wearing non stop ever since I bought them, are the “Super Flare” jeans from GAP.  J’adore…

GAP wasn’t my first choice for flares.  I’ve loved the J Brand “Bette” and “Love Story” jeans for a while but the cost factor for J Brand really puts me off.  If you, Blog Reader, have these or any other J Brand styles then please let me know what you think of them, I could be swayed for next time.  Here are some images:

My other favourites from a long list of alternatives are here below.  I especially liked the APC jeans – my friend Lani of Mon Petit Chou Chou got me into APC after her experience with raw denim that you can read here

Who else is ditching their skinny jeans for flares? If so where did you get your flares from? If not, are you with me or against me?

Wearing: GAP Super Flare jeans.  Top with bow, ASOS.

This entry was posted in 70s, ASOS, denim, GAP, jeans. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to That 70s Show.

  1. noelani says:

    These look fabulous!! Good to know you can still count on the GAP for some basics. We must have been on the same denim wavelength this week, I just finished up a post on my flares for tomorrow……

  2. Hannah Chan says:

    Those jeans look really good on you.

  3. lissy says:

    Love your Gap flares. I have the J Brand love story and love them!

  4. Aggie says:

    This flares trend is ironic because I’ve been wearing them for ages due to my giant ass. It’s just too bad that you can’t really show off your shoes in them, so I’ve taken a break from flares.

    I’ll just be rebellious and go for straight cuts 😉
    (I can never wear a skinny)

  5. Anonymous says:

    Once again – you look A-MAY-ZING. It’s like there’s LITERALLY nothing that doesn’t suit you.

  6. You’re lookin FAB in your flared jeans … And you’re right … Much more figure flattering than skinny jeans because of the balance!

  7. Carly says:

    OK…I am perplexed….I keep going to the GAP by my house and there is NO sight of a single flared jean and yet whenever I see someone with a great flare and compliment them, they always respond that they are GAP. wtf?
    Anyway…I am going to look online next- but I really wanted to TRY them on.
    They look AWESOME on you….I think you picked a fabulous pair. Enjoy:)
    -those Bette’s are pretty fab too.
    C

    • It is a bit weird Carly, because I couldn’t find a picture of the “Super Flare” jeans online either. In the shop they told me they were new in…. but there were only a couple more pairs of flares too. Good luck!

  8. I have my little eyes out for the perfect pair of flared jeans 🙂 They look marvelous!

  9. stylemefab says:

    nice!!!!!!!!!!!!…very nice. You look perfect. I think the 70-s look is very difficult to pull off, but you do it flawless.I love it

  10. mtadams1208 says:

    Love them! Got rid of mine as well but then got some & for all mankind wide-legged jeans a few weeks ago…

  11. Lynzy says:

    I just LOVE your bell bottom flares! 🙂

  12. Dempeaux says:

    These jeans are amazing! Thanks for sharing. I never got in to skinny jeans – they just don’t suit me at all, so I’ve been wearing my bootcut jeans right through the middle of that trend. Thank goodness that’s over 😉

  13. everydayglamour says:

    Oh no! You got rid of the flares? Ha ha, see what happens when you’re overzealous with the closet clearing? I happen to absolutely love the way J Brand jeans fit me, and I feel that they are worth every penny. But everyone’s figure is different…

  14. cupcake says:

    I love your flare. I wore mine yesterday! I’m on the hunt for a full flared leg, super cool doncha think?
    Cupcake
    xo

  15. Marissa says:

    I think every blogger and her mother is rocking Gap jeans these days. When did Gap get so cool again? Their jeans fit amazingly!

  16. Ritournelle says:

    Emmanuelle Alt wore flares during the whole fashion month. French Elle dedicates a 4-page article to flares in their latest issue. Conclusion : you’re in style, lady! Congratulations 😉

  17. Amanda says:

    I am loving the 70’s vibe that’s happening right now. If we get to the 80’s however….lol

    The Cheeky Cafe

Leave a Reply

