Bohemian Deluxe.

Today’s post not only features on StyleOnTheCouch but on one of my favourite new blog finds: Sparkling Footsteps.  I found Lynzy’s site recently and not only do I love her individual style but I love the way she incorporates fashion, food, exercise and DIY into her blog.  Sparkling Footsteps gets something a little different from me today, as I’m embracing a kind of bohemian style with this new outfit post, a jumpsuit from H&M.

H&M‘s Spring 2011 campaign was fronted by the Brazilian super-model, super-mum and all round super-beauty Gisele.  I loved all the pieces when I saw the photos; Gisele was snapped by photographer Daniel Jackson and styled by the talented Robert Rydberg, both of whom have been involved in previous campaigns for H&M.

Images from H&M on NYMag.

The clothes are just perfect for Spring.  There are plenty of 70s influences to make me smile: retro prints, draped jersey, lots of fit and flare… even the details like cute rope belts with tassles make my heart jump a little.  I tried on lots of separates from the collection at H&M’s Soho store in Manhattan (515 Broadway) but in the end I settled on the wide legged jersey jumpsuit, an absolute steal at $19.95.  I’d be interested to hear your thoughts on this outfit Blog Reader – and your own views on wearing jumpsuits and 70s styles.  Have any of you bought anything from this collection yet, or plan to? Do you own a jumpsuit and if so how do you accessorise it? I’m having a little trouble with this part…

Spring, I am ready for you…

This entry was posted in 70s, H&M. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Bohemian Deluxe.

  1. Hannah Chan says:

    I have not braved the jumpsuit yet but it really does look so good on you that I am very tempted to give it a go. Perfect colour on you too.

  2. Stylemefab says:

    I love it, I love the style and…… the color could not be more perfect for you. I think it looks nice when it’s flared as well. I do have a question though, what type of shoes would you wear this with, heels, wedges, sandal????

  3. Nina Holland says:

    I love this on you! And I definitely agree that accessorizing jumpsuits can be a little bit on the challenging side. I have a black, silk jumpsuit from Topshop and whenever I wear it I usually stick to bangles and rings. I feel that necklaces tend to cut off the sleek lines of the jumpsuit.

    Hope this helps, but you do wear it very well!
    xx

  4. Dempeaux says:

    I really like this colour on you, and the flared style of the pants. Jumpsuits are definitely not something I’ll be indulging in (something about the specs that doesn’t work) but I love that one on you! 🙂

    • I’m a spectacles wearer too and should wear them more often. I use contacts far too much. I think the key to this might be finding a very fabulous pair of say prada specs that make me want to wear them all the time… actually I should do a post with me in my glasses shouldn’t I?!

  5. noelani says:

    It’s a whole new bohemian “you”. I seriously didn’t even know that was a jumpsuit until I read through the post, looks like a fab maxi dress on you. The fact that it’s a jumpsuit makes it even better (and easier to wear!). You have been breaking out all the Spring fashions lately, will try to keep pace with you for the visit!

  6. cupcake says:

    I need to tail you on a shopping spree…you always get the deals! This and Classic American are my two fav looks. Hot!
    Cupcake
    xo

    • I have to admit I don’t usually browse H&M the overwhelming choice in the store puts me often (and I often think I am far too old for H&M anyways..) but when I saw this I thought I had to try. Bargain price you are right. Are you looking for anything particular at the moment?

  7. Marissa says:

    Just read your post on Sparkling Footsteps. Congrats! I love H&M’s latest collection. I tried a bunch of things on and didn’t find anything that was quite right, but I’m sure I’ll be back before spring’s over.

  8. That is beyond gorgeous! You look like a supermodel yourself and the shade is divine 🙂 x

  9. I saw this jumpsuit in the store and loooved it, esp the colour! But I’m sure I could never pull it off as well as you do! GREAT look 🙂 x

  10. mtadams1208 says:

    so pretty! love the color. And your hair always looks perfect!! Have a great weekend

  11. I am ready for spring too – and I LOVE that dress on you!

  12. I don’t know if I am brave enough for the jump suit, but who knows as summer approaches I may change my mind, love it on u tho! fab find. It looks super expensive too xxx

  13. I LOVE that romper! So gorgeous! And I’m so excited to have discovered Lynzey’s site! So fab! Happy Saturday 🙂 xoxo

  14. Stylista says:

    The 70s…I love the glamour of it, but it sure is difficult to pull off, as is with any decade outfit. Your jumpsuit is very daring, and although at first glance it looks casual, I do like how it’s dressed up with a tasseled belt. I probably won’t be trying out this 70s trend, maybe I’ll work the floral, but that’s all I can see myself doing! As for H&M, I’m so happy to see Gisele back out and modeling!

    Btw, your Jenny Packham review is posted!

    http://red-soledfashionista.blogspot.com/

  15. Giselle is so lovely…these bohemian inspired looks are super becoming on her! Love the new H&M line…just stopped over from Sparkling Footsteps to say HI!

  16. Milla says:

    During our meet, Stylemefab and I were discussing how beeping amazing your style is and this outfit is perfect for you!

    x

    • I’m jealous that you two met up and went shopping together… but happy that you did. Thanks for the compliment about the jumpsuit, felt a little different for me but I can see it’s going to get a lot of wear (as soon as the temperature warms up it is still beeping freezing in NYC this week.) xx

  17. Carly says:

    I think you are a TOTALLY FABULUOS bohemian chica….I love this look on you!

    I visit Sparkling Footsteps all the time..she has a great blog and awesome personal style:) You have great taste in clothes and blogs….shocker! lol
    Happy Weekend.
    C

  18. CinZilicious says:

    love your jumpsuit and that color is totally callin SPRING!!! lol….i’ve not checked out the H&M spring collection yet….gotta go soon:D as for jumpsuit?never ever in my life have i bought one before! i find them hard to pull off. Of cuz u dont have that prob at all lady;-)

    Cinz
    http://cinzee.wordpress.com

  19. I love this jumpsuit !
    xoxo

  20. Ritournelle says:

    You did it!! The jumpsuit post!!
    Despite my initial reserve, I actually like this on you. With the whole 70s / Taxi Driver trend re-launched by Marc Jacobs among others, this is perfect for the summer in New York.

  21. Aggie says:

    I’ve been thinking of getting a jumpsuit these days!

    Love yours! The colour, cut and flow are perfect! Some are just overdone and tacky :/

  22. VEry cool sorbet colour! Looks really good on you 🙂

  23. joy says:

    i need to buy one in xsmall where can i get one please….
    thank you!!

Leave a Reply

