Macaron Sunday.

It’s the end of a lovely weekend here in Manhattan and I’ve been out and about with new Blogging ‘n’ Tweeting friends for most of it; amazing people who aren’t letting me miss my London home too much by ensuring I have plenty of fun things to do.

Today was another macaron-Sunday (hello, my name is StyleOnTheCouch and I am an addict) involving a trip to the delightful Bisous Ciao shop on Lower East Side.  My Twitter feed has been all about the macaron today: is it macarOOn or macaRon? Where can you find the very best in Manhattan?*  Why on earth is there no Laduree here?? etc etc.  I took a little inspiration from the ‘rose’ macaron for my outfit today and wore my new pink jumper from US store Forever 21.  I recall that this brand opened a London store just before I left the UK – has anyone been and what is the general view of their clothing?

Stores like Forever 21 in Soho tend to overwhelm me with their piles of stock and low prices, however I did find this gorgeous pale pink top for Spring.  It has perfect three-quarter length sleeves, delicate light fabric and a very casual feel.  Perfect for my macaron Sunday don’t you think?

Hope you all had a fabulous weekend Xx

Wearing: Jumper from Forever 21.  Shoes from Dorothy Perkins, Jeans (dare I say it: “jeggings”), French Connection.

*So any suggestions please write in the comments below, also international readers I’d welcome your favourite macaron places too!

This entry was posted in Dorothy Perkins, Forever21, French Connection, macaron. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Macaron Sunday.

  1. Ritournelle says:

    Finally, the objects of your addiction have their very own blog post! 😉
    My favorite macarons are from Pierre Hermé. He is really innovative in his flavors and his macarons are so mellow, what a delight! He is based in Paris, has some stores in Tokyo and London, but sadly not yet in NYC.

  2. cupcake says:

    Ooooh sinful! Good for you. Noelani must have suggestions, she is Mrs. macaron!
    I really like your jumper (if by jumper you mean shirt, hehe).
    Cupcake
    xo

  3. mtadams1208 says:

    I like your top! pretty color on you. I got some macarons at a local bakery on Friday… great minds think alike 🙂 Have a great week!

  4. Lorien says:

    A fellow macaron fiend, how perfect! Looking good, cute jumper, and I absolutely love your hair. I blogged about this delightful macaron patisserie in London the other day, I am absolutely craving a macaron right now. I wish every Sunday was macaron Sunday x

    • Thank you for the comment about my hair, I have good days and bad days with it, but mostly I love it too…. I remember seeing your tweets about the macaron patisserie in London recently, you got a follow for that for sure 😉 I’ll have to scout it out when I’m next home. Thanks for dropping by….!

  5. Love the pink sweater – it fits you beautifully! And my favorite macaron shop is Pierre Herme 🙂

  6. Krista says:

    Love it, you always look flawless!

  7. Maya says:

    I have to agree, you really do look flawless. The top is great. I haven’t tried Forever21 yet but am thinking if it’s on the other high street shops track, I have to pass. When I get into the Oxford Circus Top Shop, I get a fit from all the stimuli in it. The music, the colors, the people, the shapes …. It’s just too much, and I tend to never buy anything there cause it’s just overwhelming. This turned into a rant, sorry. :-)))
    Hope you enjoyed macarons in Manhattan (Sounds like a movie :-))

    M

    • I’m so with you – going to TopShop as a kid was a real treat and I would look forward to it so much. Late years in London during school holidays I would avoid it like the plague, but just occasionally when I had the odd day off, I would LOVE going back to visit for a bargain. Macarons in Manhattan, haha could be a movie yes. Maybe I’ll film it before I return to the UK in a few years…!

  8. Dempeaux says:

    I went into a Forever 21 store last year when I was in the US and I found it completely overwhelming! Love your choice though. Perhaps the store is less daunting if you have a local store you can explore a little at a time 🙂 Great look!

    • I visited on a Thursday, and I bet at the weekend it is madness, like TopShop Oxford Circus on the school holidays (avoid avoid avoid). I’m going to check out if they sell online too… thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment, did you think any more about the eyelash extensions?

  9. Milla says:

    You’re talking my language now baby! Delicious!

    I have to agree with Ritournelle; Pierre Hermé is in a league of his own. I prefer the packaging from Ladurée (such a girl!) and the rose macarons they do in the summer will blow your mind, but Pierre Hermé’s macarons are exciting and innovative. Also, I find them more chewy, which I adore.

  10. Carly says:

    Ok..being a US girl from the start I can tell you that …Forever 21 will lure you in with their very “of the moment” trendy pieces that are very affordable..BUT I think you will find that the items fall apart after the 1st or 2nd wear. So for a fun dress for a one night excursion and you don’t care if you wear it again…it is awesome…if you are looking to rock your piece for the entire season, I think you will come up disappointed. That is just my experience:)
    You look beautiful in that color…love the simplicity of this outfit. You always look SO sophisticated my dear.
    C

    • Carly I had a very similar comment on Forever 21 by someone else today. I’m going to take note of how long this top lasts. It feels like the equivalent of what TopShop was in the UK to me (I know TopShop prices are inflated in the US) with the “of the moment” pieces though, I agree. When are you coming to NYC?!

  11. samreen says:

    awww! you look beautiful x

  12. Pierre’s are the best, but just like Milla I’m a sucker for packaging.

    Love your top, but those shoes really took my breath away!

    Bisous!
    LCT

    http://www.lechoixtrois.tumblr.com

  13. i have a place in luzern that you can come check out 🙂

  14. Coco says:

    I’m ashamed to say I’ve never tried macarons, they look incredibly delicious though!
    Might have to pop into Dorothy Perkins on my lunch break tomorrow because those shoes are fabulous ❤
    xo

    • Never tried a macaron? But you really need to! You might become a little addicted like me. I think by the time my stay in NYC comes to an end I could write a guidebook to all the macaron shops! Thanks for stopping by x

  15. Molliee says:

    Love the simplicity of this top! It is a gorgeous color!

  16. Stylista says:

    I have never tried macaroons, but it sure seems I should! Just the way everyone talks about them makes me really want to try one! I love the pure colour of that sweater. It looks deliciously comfy! Nicely paired with the pumps…

    http://red-soledfashionista.blogspot.com/

  17. Marissa says:

    Very good question – Why is there no Laduree in New York?! The best macaroons I’ve had come from a place in my neighborhood called Formaggio Kitchen, and they have a location in Manhattan, too. Somewhere downtown, I think.

  18. everydayglamour says:

    You look so awesome in those jeggings! How does one eat macaroons/macarons and look that good?

  19. icklebabe says:

    As you know, I live nowhere near anywhere where they would even know what a macaroon was…but I do sometimes make my own, and this recipe is fabby if you fancy making a bunch to impress your new pals ;D > XXX http://www.deliciousmagazine.co.uk/recipes/strawberry-macaroons
    Ps…u look gorgous as always, I love the delicate shade of the jumper, very springtime in new york! XXx

  20. Ooooooh, macarons!!! Delish! So love them! I also love to pop in to Forever 21 to check out the accessories and sweet deals … you can pick up such cute things! And your “jeggings” look FABulous, dahling! 😉 (ps there’s a fun Margarita Bloom giveaway on the blog this week you may enjoy!) Have a wonderful week, sweetie!

    Sandy
    http://oohlafroufrou.blogspot.com

  21. Pingback: Bordelle Bodywear and Lingerie. |

Leave a Reply

