California Dreaming.

It’s still not really warmed up in NYC but that doesn’t mean I can’t dream of Summer (or Spring for that matter).  I’m busy plotting a summer escape from NY.  I have a plan to hire a classic car and take a drive around California and this post is essentially a bit of an indulgence and a lot of dreaming – with lots of pretty images so sit back and enjoy the ride…

My summer wish list:
Cadillac (preferably pink).  Leather shorts (preferably black).  Killer heels (preferably those I can drive in).  Lots of sun (just preferably).  An open road (essentially).

Where are you taking your summer holiday this year, Blog Reader?  Where can I find the coveted items on my wish list (leather shorts suggestions, anyone?)

Wearing above: Shorts from TopShop.  Top from Urban Outfitters.  Heels from Dorothy Perkins as before.

Image sources from top left, clockwise; 1, 2 & 3, 4, 5.

Image source top left, then clockwise, 1, 2 unknown and 3.

Image sources: left, top right and bottom right unknown.

Image sources: top left, top right, bottom right unknown, bottom left.

This entry was posted in 70s, Dorothy Perkins, Holidays, Urban Outfitters. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to California Dreaming.

  1. Ritournelle says:

    California dreaming! What enviable plans you have 🙂 I enjoyed a short road trip in Northern California a few years ago and it was fantastic so I’m excited for you.
    As for me, I’ll be spending my summer vacation in Paris, the City of Lights, and the Normandy coast for some relaxation, fine food and family time. I hope I’ll manage to make a detour to London, will keep you posted on that!

  2. Marissa says:

    Huge props for braving the cold in your cute little summer outfit! Sounds like you have the perfect summer planned. 🙂

  3. Aggie says:

    Isn’t it cold for you to be out in shorts? :/ Very cute outfit though!

    Anyway I’m glad that I never have to worry about seasonal clothes. It’s only sun or rain here in Malaysia 😉

    How do you pick out clothes for the seasons? I’d lose my mind.

  4. Hannah Chan says:

    Another great look…cute top hardened up slightly with the shorts making for a good balance. We are probably off to Cornwall in our vintage campervan and it cannot come round soon enough!

  5. Stylista says:

    Leather shorts: yes oh yes! Have been looking for a good pair since ever. I’m with you on the hunt, so I don’t quite have a suggestion. And lots of sun? Well, that’s a constant wish. Cute little top btw!

    http://red-soledfashionista.blogspot.com/

  6. mtadams1208 says:

    Your post title adequately describes EVERY day for me! I LOVE California. So exciting!!! My favorite getaway is car rental + highway 1 + Napa/Sonoma wine and shopping there and in San Fran.

    Love the jean shorts and ruffly top 🙂

  7. noelani says:

    Oh I have been California dreaming here as well, maybe Napa? Any vaca that revolves around wine and food is on my agenda (probably why we head between Napa and France every year?). Tibi made some cute leather shorts this winter….if I see any for Spring I will let you know! I picked up a cute pleather pair at Club Monaco (you been there yet?!).

  8. i think i am dreaming of cali too, my day dream in my post was very socal i was told 🙂

  9. Dempeaux says:

    So summery! We’re just about to launch into Autumn here in Oz, and I’ll be happy tp hand over the hot (hot) weather for a while. Your look is so summery! Just right for a road trip 🙂

  10. everydayglamour says:

    You kill me! First jeggings and now this–how do you look so awesome in itty bitty short shorts?? You look great!! (I would look ridiculous in them–so envious. 😉 )

  11. Leather shorts are on my wish list, too! You look great!
    Xx

  12. Leather shorts are on my wishlist, too! You look great!
    Xx

  13. Emmie says:

    Oh darling, you do look amazing. The top from Urban Outfitters is delightful. Your summer plans sound fantastic! As for me, I’m going to see a little of Europe – Barcelona, Finland and some of Italy I hope. I’m all about the dresses this summer though and have already bought that adorable polka dot/black number from your previous fit & flare post! 😉

    http://www.emmiesdarlings.blogspot.com

  14. stylemefab says:

    ahhh Sarah you look amazing, love the shorts and now I am seriously convinced it is not even possible for you to look bad in anything. I would love to wear shorts but I get very self conscious of the large size of my booty and can never go through with it.

    • I BET your booty is not at all large, and even if it is there is no one standard of beauty, I say flaunt and love what you do have (for me its legs but other areas get minimised big time!) – go buy some shorts! xx

  15. Milla says:

    Pretty, summery and just so you! Really nice!

    x

  16. Emmie says:

    Oh darling! You look fantastic. The top from Urban Outfitters is truly adorable. I’m going see some of Europe this Summer; Barcelona, Finland and hopefully a bit of Italy. For me, it is dresses all the way and I have already got my hands on that lovely little polka dot/black number from your Fit and Flare post a while ago! 🙂

    http://www.emmiesdarlings.blogspot.com

    • Wow did you get the polka dot dress? I so want a picture of you in that in Italy. Happy travelling and I’m checking in with your blog regularly for tips and ideas… Come to NY some time!

  17. Amanda says:

    Such a cute and perfect outfit! I am in California and it’s a beautiful 85 degrees here today!! We are actually going to the beach today for the first time. My summer vacation is coming up in 2 months and we are spending a week in Maui. I have been working my butt off (literally) to get swimsuit ready. Eeeeek!

    The Cheeky Cafe

    • Now Maui is a pretty amazing location for a break. Take lots of pictures for the blog please! I will be using you for travel tips to California nearer the time so watch out! xx

  18. Martini says:

    Oh, my! That is indeed one cute outfit. Love the nude pumps.

  19. verychiclist says:

    Am in this mood too..California dreaming…sun -shorts-driving 🙂

    http://verychiclist.blogspot.com/

  20. CinZilicious says:

    love your summer look!!! Those pants are hot and the top is sooo cute:D It’s finally starting to get warmer here, yah baby;)

    Cinz
    http://cinzee.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

