MICHI Athletic Wear.

It’s April, Blog Reader.  You know what that means?  That means “It Is Time”.  Time to come out from hiding underneath those winter layers, out from behind the woollen coats and floaty capes and time to get “Summer Body Ready” (SBR). I know you are already thinking of this Blog Reader, perhaps even dreading it since Easter is annoyingly placed between Winter and Summer when we should be working on our SBR regime.  Meh but what is one chocolate mini egg or two in Spring, you ask?  Well this year nothing, Blog Reader, because a SBR regime requires a hot-workout-kit to motivate you to get down to the hard work that is required and I have found us the perfect athletic gear to get SBR in.

Let me introduce MICHI.  I was told about this designer by the lovely lady behind Quite Continental who got me involved in her regular “Barre n Belles” workout at Pilates on 5th last week.  I love Pilates and the work of Tracy Anderson and I loved the class as a combination of those kind of moves, although the introduction of a 10lb kettlebell weight didn’t go down to well with me at first.  I am quite sure, had I been wearing some of this fabulous sports and dance wear clothing from MICHI I would have had that little bit more motivation to work harder towards my SBR goals.

“MICHI is an edgy, fashion-forward, utilitarian active lifestyle brand. It represents enduring sophistication, alluring femininity, exceptional quality and impeccable fit. MICHI originated from the desire to fill the gap between provocative, glamorous lingerie and comfortable, utilitarian athletic wear.” [StyleOnTheCouch writes: Did I hear “lingerie” and “athletic wear” together? THE range for me then!]

“MICHI is inspired by the seductive, sleek and fantastical super heroine costume mixed with sensual boudoir chic overtones, but is transformed to cater to a modern active lifestyle. Luxurious and cutting edge fabrics with innovative high performance finishes, such as super-soft Italian cotton jersey, four-way stretch Swiss nylon lycra and sumptuous mesh, are used for comfort, breathability, durability – and of course style.”

“Each piece in the Fall 2011 Collection is immaculately constructed and expertly contoured with seemingly weightless stretch fabric. Constructed to fit, flatter and function, MICHI creates length, smooth curves and a perfectly sculpted feminine form. Each piece can be effortlessly mixed, matched and layered to expose intricate details such as peek-a-boo bra straps and stylized waistbands.  With its edgy sensuality and simple yet flattering lines, MICHI sets a new standard for sportswear.  Rich in detail and suggestive contrasts, MICHI makes you feel sexy yet sophisticated, powerful yet feminine, comfortable yet polished”

I adore the look of this collection.  For me it absolutely captures the power of femininity.  I want to take mine to the gym right now so I’m placing my order…..

Let’s hear about Michelle, who is the designer behind the MICHI range:

How did you get into fashion design?
It was the beginning of the Beverly Hills 90210 era but I was instead obsessed with Gianni Versace, Chanel, Christian Lacroix and the Supermodels. I even wrote to YM magazine to convince them to feature high fashion rather than the same old 90210 characters.  I taught myself to sew as a child because my mother wouldn’t buy me the (now hideous) pastel pink ditsy floral Guess short-overalls that I so desperately wanted and I continued making my own clothes from then on.  In University I studied business with the intention to run a successful fashion business. Years later I moved to New York to study fashion design at Parsons School of Design, followed by some great fashion design gigs and now I’m finally doing my own thing!
Why did you decide to focus on sports and dance wear?
I’ve always been an athlete and in the past 12 years a dancer, so every day I would need to wear boring athletic clothing. I felt like most of the sport brands were safe and masculine with a lack of originality. Even my favorite sport brands didn’t have a comfortable or flattering feminine fit. I knew people were very tired of the same popular yoga and athletic brands. For the past few years I was on the RLX Ralph Lauren design team so I was immersed in athletic wear and in a luxury environment with plenty of inspiration. It became clear to me that sports and dance wear was a growing niche market that I could conquer. I knew I could design outfits that would make women want to dance, fight or hit the gym – just so they could wear MICHI. I want to pioneer a change in the world of active wear.
What was the inspiration behind this current collection?
This collection was inspired by the seductive, sleek and fantastical super heroine costume mixed with sensual boudoir chic overtones. If Elektra, Wonder Woman, Bettie Page and Dita Von Teese went to the gym – what would they wear, then continue wearing on the street?
What are you doing at the moment?
Feeling overwhelmed but grateful for all of the positive attention and order inquiries I’ve been getting. For the next few weeks I will be working non-stop with my production team to replenish my stock and fill orders.
Who are you favourite fashion designers and why?
Alber Elbaz (Lanvin), Alexander McQueen (RIP), Gianni Versace (RIP), Christian Lacroix, Mark Fast (Canadian based in London) and John Galliano (I respect his design genius, not his actions).
And finally, what is your favourite item from your own work?
The Lioness Bra (black cut-out bra) with Illusion Pant (bikini detail pant with mesh inserts). I wear them both all the time and I get a lot of unexpected positive attention.

MICHI will be in shops to buy from July.  I hope you love it as much as I do.  For further information please contact Michelle.

This entry was posted in Bags, Fitness, gym, MICHI, Summer Body and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to MICHI Athletic Wear.

  1. Ritournelle says:

    Oooh so this is the mysterious lingerie meets sportswear brand! A little too daring for my taste, but the style is very interesting.

  2. Patricia says:

    I could NEVER go to the gym dressed like that no matter how great my body looked!

  3. It is very very daring and not only for the brave-hearted but they also need a perfect body (hello Team Steve!), tough I like the pants in picture 3!
    Thanks for sharing this brand!
    Bisous!
    LCT

    • No perfect body required, just a love of great things to work out in I think. Steve might not know where to look though….?! I must catch up on the next Le Choix this weekend….! xx

  4. Coco says:

    This stuff is so sexy!
    xo

  5. i definitely need to look at this line – i love buying new work out clothes, it makes me want to work out more so that i can wear them!

  6. Reena says:

    This is like my dream brand…I want everything! Thank you so, so much for sharing

  7. Milla says:

    Gorgeous images and I love the comparison between the pretty model and the ‘tough’ workout. These must look amazing in a glossy mag. Image 2 is my favourite.

    I’m with Patricia on this: I would never wear these to the gym, or out of the house (says the woman who lives in mini-dresses…). I don’t like people staring at me and trust me, this would make you stare! Also, whenever women show up to the gym scantily clad, my views about them are not necessarily positive. It’s not jealously, because my body is rockin’! Hehe, I jest!

  8. Dempeaux says:

    Whilst some of this range is a bit risque for me, some of it looks really good! I hope the clothes are built tough though, because gym clothes need a lot of washing. Thanks for the post!

  9. noelani says:

    You always have a way of working something slightly riske into the perfect outfit (like the La perla garter as belt). I would be curious to see you work some of this and see how you wear it. Brilliant post, thank you for sharing some workout and fashion inspiration!

  10. I love it all! It’s about time gym gear got a bit more interesting, and this is foxy stuff. You do need a super bod tho, no getting away from it, your gonna look fab! 😉 xxx

  11. Pingback: A Colourful Sunday Brunch. |

  12. stylemefab says:

    that looks fabulous, but i need to work out my current body form in my regular clothes to get the body so I can wear that to the gym (kinda confusing but i hope you can understand that).

  13. everydayglamour says:

    I love this line, thank you so much for introducing us to it!! It’s fun and sexy, and totally different from what’s out there in the market right now. Move over Lululemon, ha ha!
    I would totally wear some of those pieces. I would probably mix one piece with more traditional workout wear.

    • I can see you in this collection! And I know you’re lifting weights in your home, too….. Great idea about mixing it up a bit, I think I’d also wear the bra tops as everyday lingerie as well.

  14. Pingback: Friday Lingerie Lust: Made By Nikki | StyleOnTheCouch

  15. Pingback: StyleOnTheCouch Loves: Beth Richards Swimwear | StyleOnTheCouch

  16. Pingback: StyleOnTheCouch Loves (all over again!): MICHI Athletic Wear | StyleOnTheCouch

Leave a Reply

