Ice-cream Tuesdae.

So Spring has finally sprung in Manhattan (I hope I haven’t spoken too soon) and I was outside today soaking up some sun.  I felt really happy to be warm and outdoors.

“Beautiful clothing is not a substitute for therapy.  It is a great tragedy for a person to look beautiful on the outside, but feel like a wreck on the inside” FashTherapist

If we consider that the sun brings out the happy in me then, it’s only natural for that to be reflected in my clothing.  Babydoll dresses aren’t usually my style, but today I decided it was time to bring the babydoll out of the closet.  There is a really fun, flirty style to these dresses that I can’t deny:

babydoll is a short, sometimes sleeveless, loose-fitting nightgown or negligee intended as nightwear for women. It sometimes has formed cups called a bralette for cleavage with an attached loose-fitting skirt falling in length usually between the upper thigh and the belly button. The garment is often trimmed with lace, ruffles, appliques, marabou fur, bows and ribbons, optionally with spaghetti straps. Sometimes it is made of sheer or translucent fabric like nylon or chiffon or silk.
The name was popularized by the 1956 movie Baby Doll starring Carroll Baker in the title role as a 19-year old nymphet, which essentially marked the beginning of the enduring popularity of the style for adults. (From Wikipedia.)

So where does a fun, flirty dress lead me?  To the Sundaes & Cones ice-cream shop, recommended to me by the power of Twitter as a must-visit East Village destination:

It is nigh on impossible to eat an ice-cream (from a cone at least) in a ladylike manner so I took my time but on my walk through the East Village to Union Square I did get some very funny looks and intense stares.  Several splodges of melted ice-cream on my babydoll dress later and a dry cleaning bill twice as expensive as the ice-cream itself (hmm), I pondered on the staring.  As my friend Fash-Therapist said to me afterwards: “these people obviously don’t believe the whole ‘sometimes a cigar is just a cigar’ Freud thing 😉

Babydoll dresses Blog Reader – are you wearing these?  Is there a correlation between your mood and how you dress?  More importantly, do you have a favourite ice-cream shop?  (Oh hang on, this is a fashion blog….)

Wearing: Babydoll dress from French Connection.  Shoes from Dorothy Perkins.

This entry was posted in Black Dress, Dorothy Perkins, East Village, French Connection, Manhattan. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Ice-cream Tuesdae.

  1. samreen says:

    I love baby doll dresses! The one you are wearing is divine!! x

  2. lissy says:

    The babydoll dress looks darling on you. I think they are lovely but on my curvy body they just don’t work.

    As for ice cream, there’s an Italian gelateria that’s opened in Manhattan called Grom. I’ve only ever been in Italy but seems it would be worth a try in Manhattan.

    Lissy

  3. Dempeaux says:

    I am convinced that if I lived in the US I’d be the size of a house.

    Love the dress! I think they’re particularly lovely for spring. A girl feels instantly feminine in one 🙂

  4. i always am dressing based on my mood…sometimes a dress sometimes a blazer..you know, gotta change it up!

  5. Krista says:

    You look adorable in a baby doll dress. Even with the ice cream splotches, I’m sure 🙂

  6. LittleRus says:

    I was following the ice-cream story on twitter yesterday. 🙂 Thought it was such an adorable way to spend time. I love ice-cream very much too, especially gelato and your story reminded me of our infrequent but special trips to an Italian shop where I’d always treat myself to a pistachio gelato.
    Babydoll-wise… Don’t really wear them (unless it’s the “sleepy time”), but love… I have this Marchesa Notte baby-doll dress, a present from my dear friend, and this is the only babydoll I own. I’ve been thinking about wearing it just because I fancy looking pretty, not for a special occasion etc. It’s glitsy, but I think I could fit it into an ordinary day, too…

    xxx

  7. Michelle says:

    Love the babydoll dress on you SOTC. Ohh I miss the sun and warm weather already!

    M xox

  8. dailyrunway says:

    I love Sundaes and Cones.. one of my fave ice cream shops. How are you enjoying NY so far?

    • Very much! Lots to see and explore and I love the bars and restaurants I’ve found. Looking forward to warmer weather but the humidity is already a bit of a shock to my system – sooo humid! xx

  9. I love the neckline on this dress! So pretty!

  10. Ritournelle says:

    There is no correlation between my mood and the way I dress, but I do choose my nail polish according to the way I feel. When I wear Vendetta by Chanel, my boss should know she’d better leave me alone.
    My favorite ice-cream shops are not so much about the ice-creams themselves but about the location (location location location!). I usually take a yogurt and cinnamon ice-cream cup at Grom on Columbus Circle before I stroll in Central Park. And Berthillon in Paris is located on an island in the Seine right next to Notre-Dame de Paris; it’s magical at night!
    PS. Those people were probably just jealous.

    • There is NO correlation between your mood and the way that you dress? I do not believe you I am going to quiz you when I next see you. As for the nail polish, I laughed, what does it mean when you choose “mimosa” then? Feeling fruity? In regards to your ps I agree. My ice-cream was AWESOME.

      • Ritournelle says:

        It’s more a question of dressing for an occasion rather than a mood, at least as far as I’m concerned 😉
        I probably picked Mimosa because I’m overjoyed it’s finally Spring and I want to boast that I have the latest polish from Chanel, haha!

Leave a Reply

