A Right Royal Knees Up.

On the day of the Royal Wedding, I did indeed get up at 5am here in the US to watch the proceedings.  I also had to find a way to celebrate when the hours were more sociable!  I debated hanging some bunting in the apartment and making cucumber sandwiches but instead decided on doing a few nice things in Manhattan instead.  (I am so in need of an afternoon tea fix when I return to the UK for a break this summer!)

So, I had lunch at Cafe Gitane in The Jane Hotel – their crunchy avocado bread is highly recommended and you can see some additional pictures taken by my fabulous dining companion here.  I then walked through the West Village for some window shopping, past the Diptyque boutique for some sensory delights and then on to The Magnolia Bakery to pick up some cupcakes for a thoroughly British tea…

I am in love with my outfit in this post.  I have so many black dresses but the neckline on this dress from ASOS is one of my favourites.  I’m wearing: Dress from ASOS. Belt from ASOS.  (I couldn’t find the exact one but I found a very similar one here.  Shoes from Dorothy Perkins as before.

How did you celebrate the Royal Wedding, Blog Reader?

This entry was posted in ASOS, belt, Black Dress, Blogger friends, cakes, Dorothy Perkins, Dress, Manhattan, NYC. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A Right Royal Knees Up.

  1. Dempeaux says:

    I love this dress too! The neckline is really interesting. I watched the Royal Wedding here too, and as C’s parents are English we had spongecake, Pimm’s, and dressed up for the occassion. Loved it!

  2. lissy says:

    Love the dress, especially the pleats in the skirt! I was in Vegas trying to sleep while my friend had the TV on the whole not so as not to miss one second of the Royal Wedding!

    Lissy
    http://www.agirlinboston.com

  3. Beautiful dress !
    I watched it on the internet with all people in my open space, on one screen and everyone was smilling and saying “oh, she’s beautiful” (especially my boss ahahah)

  4. Carly says:

    Oh, this would be a favorite of mine too. Love that cut out at the arm….so unexpected. Perfect little black dress for sure:) I really didn’t watch the Royal Wedding but have SO very much enjoyed all the after coverage of the outfits of all the royals and attendees. So many bloggers covered it so well- I felt like I DID watch, lol.

    Yes- finally took the plunge and started the personal shopping/styling business…I have been helping my old boutique clients for months and figured it was time to make it official and promote my services around here at the Jersey Shore and beyond…it all happened rather quickly but I am just going w the flow…that is my new mantra. Have a great week:)
    C

  5. michelle says:

    love your photos and outfit 🙂

    http://pinklemonincrystal.blogspot.com

  6. absolutely gorgeous dress! the top portion is so interesting and modern, while the pleating on the bottom is so sophisticated and lovely! What a perfect LBD!

  7. LittleRus says:

    Very beautiful! Love the dress and the hair and the legs. 🙂 Your Royal celebration sounds very New York and very tempting. It’s like one of those “Wish you were there…” cards.
    By the way, hope to see the results of that Chanel make-over. Also if you happen to read my comment before going there, could you be a darling and ask them what lipstick shade Barbara Palvin is wearing in that ad I posted yesterday…? Suuuuuuuch a pretty shade of berry pink….
    Have a wonderful day, darling!

    xxx

  8. LadyM says:

    This dress is gorgeous on you! perfect for Royal Wedding day
    I spent the morning as Fashion Correspondent for BBC Radio Kent, then had a house party whilst watching the wedding – check out my outfit from Original Annie

    http://www.ladympresents.co.uk/original-annie-flagship-fashion-5th-may-tunbridge-wells/

  9. Oh my gosh, you look oh-so-Tiffany in this dress!! Love it! I didn’t get up early to watch the wedding … I DVR’d it and opted for sleep … but it was LOVELY! So classic and tasteful! xo

  10. vivalaqbee03 says:

    Perfect little black dress. I love the neckline 🙂

    Love and Live Your Fashion at Viva La Qbee03
    http://vivalaqbee03.wordpress.com

  11. that dress is adorable, miss!!

  12. Flara says:

    wow, you look like Kate Middleton:)

  13. Mariah says:

    I’m quite disappointed you didn’t bring out your fascinator for the festivities. What kind of Brit are you?!?

  14. Lorien says:

    Great dress (love the pleated skirt), and I love how you celebrated the Royal wedding even in Manhattan – you’re still true to your British roots I see! Food looks great. I am rather envious you always seem to find incredible things on ASOS! I find the menswear on there well err rather lacking if I’m honest 😦 x

  15. Ritournelle says:

    You found the perfect LBD! Love the pleats. Speaking of Diptyque, have you found a fragrance that you like?
    On the day of the Royal wedding, I was awoken at 6am by my roommate watching it on TV (he’s American, of course he needs to play it loud…). Luckily, my grumpy mood due to lack of sleep disappeared as I saw the pictures on the web and watched the ceremony on the Net later.

    • I’m clearly attracted to “sweet” fragrances, I’m not sure which Diptyque is best for me right now – perhaps a return trip to take the scents again is required! I cannot believe that even though you were woken up at 6am you chose not to get up, lady…!

  16. Shellena says:

    Your dress is amazing!
    xx
    Shellena

Leave a Reply

