A Little Joan Holloway.

Joan: “You want to be taken seriously? Stop dressing like a little girl

~Mad Men Series.2 Ep.6:Maidenform

Whilst I simply adore all the costumes in the AMC TV series Mad Men, Joan Holloway’s outfits are the ones I find particularly striking.  The combination of colour and shape we see Joan wearing shows us the power of her femininity.  Janie Bryant, Costume Designer for the show, said of Joan: ‘she is a feminist who doesn’t realise it yet’.  This makes me like her character even more as she struts around the office showing everyone who is the bosslady.

Taking a lesson from Joan, I was inspired to purchase this ASOS White crepe red dress with Dolman sleeves.  I’ve written about both ASOS White and ASOS Black collections before and I always check back on the ASOS website now and again to see what new styles they are offering.  Right now ASOS White hosts some fabulous colours: bold reds, crisp whites, turquoise, neon yellows and even a ‘tutti frutti’ shorts mix!  Back to the dress – the sleeves here don’t really taper enough to be ‘Dolman’, they are in more of a Kimono style, but I love them all the same.    The dress isn’t quite as fitted as I would like it to be, but I’m thinking a (?gold) belt might help give additional shape.  A perfect dress in time for my return to the work place, Blog Reader, as my work permit arrived just last week!

Are you a Joan, Peggy or a Betty?  Or a Don, Roger or a Pete for that matter? Which Mad Men style can you see yourself in?

This entry was posted in ASOS, Dorothy Perkins, Dress, MadMen, red and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to A Little Joan Holloway.

  1. I love the Kimono sleeves! You look lovely….I have to say I am a TRUDY XX

  2. lissy says:

    Whoa!!! Color color color! Looks great on you:)

    Lissy

  3. I LOVE that dress. LOVE it. And Joan always looked like a piece of art I thought!

  4. wow this color looks great on you!

  5. LittleRus says:

    I really like the colour and the shape, sleeves are very interesting, make me think of kimono. I’ve never actually watched Mad Men, only saw a little bit of one episode… so I don’t really know much about the characters.
    x

  6. jessica says:

    Love this dress, I can totally picture a gold belt with it. What a great dress to celebrate the arrival of your work permit! Congrats!

    I’m such a fan of Mad Men, sometimes more for the style then the actual plots. I can’t wait to get back to my closet in Montreal and channel my favorite character, Betty. Thanks for the inspiration!

  7. Maya says:

    bummer… you reminded me of Mad men now, and they still don’t know when will they be back. I like em all and completely agrre with the sentence above. It’s time to accept womanhood. 🙂
    The dress you’re wearing is very very cool, though I can see what you mean about the belt.
    M

  8. COLOURS!! L.O.V.E!

    X
    Le Choix Trois

  9. Marissa says:

    Mad Men is by far my favorite show on television, and I absolutely adore Joan! I love this red dress on you, and it’s great to hear you took inspiration from Joan. While I don’t think the dress is too big, I do see how a gold belt would be a great addition. I tend to think belts make most things better, though. 😉

    • I’m learning this about belts! I bought this fabulous ruched dress in a sample sale today, and when I tried it with belts I thought it was so much better than plain. So, agreed!

  10. Beautiful dress and striking color on you! I actually haven’t watched Madmen … I’ve always wanted to, but it just didn’t work with my schedule or something and by the time I thought about it, I felt as if I had so much to catch up on. Wish I knew how to answer that question! I do have the book, however, The Fashion File by Janie Bryant as reference in my studio 😉

    • What, you haven’t seen Mad Men??? Oo we’ll have to get you caught up and fast! Good to hear you have The Fashion File to hand, I also have a copy and I like how Janie Bryant encourages us to love our bodies as women.

  11. Rachael says:

    Love the color! Mad for madmen!

  12. Cee says:

    You are so right, we can all take a lesson in style from Joan; her outfits are always bang on but demand to be taken seriously at the same time. Love your red dress- the kimono sleeves absolutely make it!
    xox,
    Cee

  13. Dempeaux says:

    I love it! I think Mad Men styling is amazing and deserves more praise 🙂

  14. noelani says:

    I’m definitely a Betty. But I can’t watch the show because it always makes me mad. An episode can’t go by without me commenting on how if he ever cheats…..fill in the blank. Your dress is a stunner though. Love the color on you.

    • Yes, I would say you are definitely a Betty too. An inpeccable host which you are being tonight at the Banana Republic event as I write. Hope it went well! I’ll post a full outfit pic soon xx

  15. stylemefab says:

    you look great and the color looks fantastic on you. You are certainly giving Joan a run for her money.

  16. Jen W says:

    I love that neckline and the colour of the dress. It really does remind me of Joan, who I adore 🙂

    I would love to kid myself that I am ‘Joan’, but I just don’t have the sass.

  17. maya says:

    I adore Mad Men and that red dress you are in. It looks divine!

  18. Ritournelle says:

    Love this dress on you! All you need now is a nice belt to enhance it.
    Joan is my favorite too style-wise and also because of the way she carries herself. I remember also being wowed by one of Don’s ex-lovers, the one who owned a department store. Rachel something, I think?

Leave a Reply

