On Yer Bike, Mate.


Red white and blue.  What I can say, I’m showing some love for both sides across the Atlantic right now*.  I’ve had to invest in several pairs of shorts lately, since my new love, my city bicycle and I, are getting acquainted.  On our first date he took me along the West Coast Cycle path and then to Central Park, where he bought me an ice-cream and we sat listening to free jazz together.  Cute, hey?!  On our second date we went a-trekking through the heart of the city together, down Broadway and along the edge of Times Square.  It felt kinda dangerous but he looked after me and made me feel safe.   I shouted at lots of pedestrians for getting in the way.  He laughed, he found my “annoyed” British accent funny… You see we’re already getting to know each other’s quirks and foibles.  I can tell it’s going to be a great relationship….

I dress differently for him, though. My summer dresses just aren’t going to cut it in this new partnership, it’s too windy and I left my Bridget Jones pants behind in London.  So what’s a girl to do? Head back to Gap for some colourful slipper red clean front shorts, that’s what.  Perfect for me and my bicycle.

Wearing: Wedges from ALDO.  Red shorts from GAP.  White top (just seen) Urban Outfitters.  Cropped Terry Sweatshirt by Ralph Lauren RX.  Sunglasses Accessorise.  Large red clutch with blue zipper by my favourite creative in Chicago: Taylor of CurlyInTheCity.

Next time I’ll try to look as stylish as these ladies:

Blog Readers with bikes: Dress notes, s’il vous plait?

*For all you smartie pants out there I think there are about 20 or so red, white and blue flags, including Iceland, Russia and Lao. 

This entry was posted in ALDO, Bicycle, Blue, Fashion, GAP, Jumper, Manhattan, red, shorts, Style. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to On Yer Bike, Mate.

  1. Dempeaux says:

    I think shorts are a good way to go on a bike – avoids any Monroe-style ‘mishaps’ 😉 Great shorts though! Great casual styling all ’round!

  2. Cee says:

    This little story about you and your bicycle is too cute- it had me grinning from ear to ear 🙂 The shorts are adorable, too, just perfect for a summer time ride to the park!
    xox,
    Cee

  3. Rebecca says:

    Sounds like you are having a fabulous time in NY, very jealous.
    Rx

  4. LittleRus says:

    Really lovely look! Comfortable but feminine. And I like the colours very much. Wishing you lots of happy day with your new friend. 🙂

  5. love the color combo and the fit of these shorts! so fun

    http://mstwirlyskirts.com

  6. everydayglamour says:

    Oh, you and your bike will have a great summer! How exciting.

  7. Reena says:

    Absolutely adore this outfit, I think it’s far too chic to be so practical!

  8. Ritournelle says:

    Love your casual outfit and glad to see the top you told me about! You don’t wear wedges for cycling though, do you?!

Leave a Reply

