It Really Is Still All White.

I’ve posted a lot of white dresses this year and this long-sleeved dress by Yigal Azrouel is another addition to my collection.  I purchased it for no-money-at-all at the recent NYC sample sale, spotted on the rack of items that were designed by Azrouel but never actually went into full production.  I like the dress because the material isn’t that sheer white that gives me undergarment dilemmas (ladies, you know what I’m talking about, right?) and it can be worn plain or totally jazzed up with accessories.  I prefer the ‘plain’ look for this in the day time, but I can tell I’ll be carrying a few items for that day to night time transition!

I’ve seem so many fabulous white dresses lately I wanted to list my favourites here.  Aside of the Reiss Lara Dress and the Reiss Jen Dress already on the blog, I think my favourite is the DVF dress from net a porter, below.  The ASOS Black Perspex Fin dress however is creeping up my wish list.  I love the ASOS own brand ranges, I continue to be impressed with the designs each new collection:

Below: Dorothy Perkins white piquet structured dress; Club Monaco shorts and top and Whistles Ally deconstructed dress:

US readers – you really need to check out Dorothy Perkins if you don’t know the brand already.  They do international delivery and their dresses and jumpsuits this summer are amazing…

So, let’s talk white for a moment blog reader.  Love it or hate it?  Are we in agreement about underwear dilemmas? Let’s get intimate on this one….

This entry was posted in ASOS, Club Monaco, Dorothy Perkins, Dress, DVF, Fashion, sample sale, Style, Whistles, white, white dress, Yigal Azrouel. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to It Really Is Still All White.

  1. Congratulations on snagging the Yigal Azrouel dress! It’s lovely x


    verenahafner.wordpress.com

  2. LittleRus says:

    I loooooooooooooooove this dress! It’s simply perfect and looks amazing on you! I always make sure I have white dresses for summer – can’t be without them. The ASOS one above is so interesting, I will definitely have a look. Like the DP one, too, but I need to see it in a shop before I’d make a decision, but the shape is one of the best of the best of the best. 🙂
    Have a wonderful day, darling!
    x

  3. I’m a big Dorothy Perkins fan at the moment! They have really cute dresses and it’s all affordable! I bought a white dress recently but I think I’m taking it back as I don’t think I can keep I white! I love the one you’re wearing! x

  4. lissy says:

    I love the DVF dress and on my upcoming jaunt to London I shall have to check out Dorothy Perkins in person.
    Lissy

  5. you found some great dresses!!

  6. mtadams1208 says:

    I love white dresses!! It is a huge problem for me lately, because I am looking for a dress to wear to a wedding and every dress I see that I LOVE is white!! ahhh. very frustrating. BTW loved you post about NYC fashion versus british fashion – I love to hear about things like that!

  7. GORGE! love the simplicity of your dress – stunning

    http://mstwirlyskirts.com

  8. This is such a gorgeous dress on you. Simple but beautiful, and I like the nude shoes with it.

    I love white in summer, but yeah, you have to have lots of flesh-toned undergarments on hand to be safe!

    • Oh this underwear dilemma is driving me crazy I had a similar problem with an over-sized white shirt I was trying to style today! I am however determined to win this challenge. Thank you for stopping by and for leaving a comment!

  9. Dempeaux says:

    I really like white dresses, and I love that white dress on you! Personally, I’m constantly worried I’m going to spill something on it though. I really like the cut of the dress you have on – very easy and un-fussy for summer. The other examples you show are excellent too, and, well, you know my thoughts on DVF 😉

    • Oh this is so funny because I always have my mum’s voice in my ear telling me white is not practical and it’s bound to get dirty! As a child I am quite sure she was right. As an adult well I say go for it, it’s a great colour. Yes, haha I do know your thoughts on DVF! You were her so well!

  10. Marissa says:

    I didn’t know Dorothy Perkins shipped to the US! I always see British bloggers write about it, and I love the stuff, but I always ignore it because I figure I can’t get it here. I’m with you on the underwear dilemma. I wish I could find a decent slip, but they’re all too long to wear with short dresses!

    • This is a really good point I think you’ve set me a challenge there, to find the right slip for the shorter dresses, but without going too much into shapewear (not always good for wearing all day in the summer heat! I shall report back! x

  11. Carly says:

    You really did well at the sample sale girl.
    Sometimes the BEST items never make it to production. When I worked for Nicole Miller I LOVED having the pieces that i knew NO ONE else would have…because it literally was NEVER made. Best feeling.
    C

    • It really is a great feeling, that you have something unique from a designer, I agree! I did luck out with Yigal this summer. I was so scared in my first sample sale, and I learned how to make the most of them, but I shall be choosy who I attend in the future because it takes a lot of effort too! Carly thank you once again for visiting me at StyleOnTheCouch x

  12. Ritournelle says:

    I love your white dress and it’s simplicity! Personnally I’d just add a big necklace to it 😉

Leave a Reply

