Neons and Neutrals by the Pool.

This post is part of the Bloggers Do It Better challenge on Neons & Neutrals… 

I spent the weekend in D.C. where the weather was truly amazing.  I got to see some fantastic sights: The White House, Capitol Hill and the Lincoln Memorial.  Most of all I enjoyed being away from Manhattan for a couple of days, for a change of scene and to relax.  Since the weather was so humid and the sun was shining brightly, packing for the trip included variations on a theme of shorts and vest tops with just my Yigal Azrouel dress for the evening.

My hotel had a cute outdoor pool which provides the backdrop for this new outfit post.  I’m wearing my nude lace shorts and silk top – both from H&M – with Nine West heels and I’m carrying my neon yellow clutch from Taylor of CurlyInTheCity.  I wore this outfit (ok so I did change my shoes but in my defence I did a LOT of walking around D.C.!) on Sunday for the Air and Space museum, ambling around the Capital Building and a yummy brunch at Oyamel.  I love this outfit because of the delicate summer colours and the ruffles on the front of the vest.   London weather would rarely give me the opportunity to wear such an outfit without getting goosebumps, so it was great to feel the sun on my skin in D.C.

I hope you had a great weekend too, Blog Reader!

Special thanks to Rosa Loves DC for all her insider information for my weekend.  She gave me some fabulous bar and dining recommendations, I’ll share them with you in future posts!

This entry was posted in Bags, Blogger friends, Clutch, Fashion, H&M, lace, Nine West, shorts, Style, weekend looks. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Neons and Neutrals by the Pool.

  1. Gorgeous look. I love how the nude compliments your skin tone, looks really amazing! 🙂

  2. Michelle says:

    Love this outfit. That burst of yellow is lovely. You always look so fab. Glad you had a good time in DC. Its a great city.

  3. Great look…love the shorts especially.

    DC is so much fun! Glad you had a good time!

  4. RosaLovesDC says:

    Fabulous outfit! Thanks for the shout-out. I am glad that I was able to help.

  5. Lynzy says:

    Loving your neon/neutral look. Very classic and chic. I can’t get enough of these clutches, I need to purchase one in every color.

  6. Nathalie says:

    love the shorts!

  7. love the yellow bag choice for this outfit! you look so pretty! I am also glad to hear you wore your Yigal dress out and about:) love it

    http://mstwirlyskirts.com

  8. samreen says:

    O Sarah, you look beautiful!! x

  9. You look beautiful!! Lovely outfit!! xxx

    • Thank you you’re very sweet. When I take photos with such great morning sunlight I always love the way the pics turn out. London has similar light so infrequently…. such a shame!

  10. Marissa says:

    I really love the clutch. I haven’t been to D.C. in years. I really should visit again. With New York between Boston and D.C., though, it’s hard to convince myself to travel that extra few hours. 🙂

    • Ha! Yes I see what you mean, but I did really enjoy the range of things to do in the city and it was a lot less hectic than NYC which was so appealing for a getaway. I really need to get to Boston soon, though!

  11. you look awesome and adorable here..
    i love the warm color ❤

    ♥ sugarpuff ♥
    Pinkie Anggia ☺
    http://pinkieanggia.tumblr.com

  12. Dempeaux says:

    So gorgeous! Really effortless, but super stylish too! Love your shoes 🙂

  13. carly says:

    Coming to your defense..I ALWAYS wear what i feature on the blog…but sometimes I change my shoes too…especially when I am walking around or chasing after my lil man.
    Anyway…I wish I had known you were going to DC…maybe you shared and I missed it…i was raised in Northern VA and went into DC pretty much every weekend for 10 years…I miss it there SO very much- my best girlfriends are all there….so jealous!!
    Can’t wait to see where you dined etc.
    Oh and you look beautiful as always..LOVE the clutch

    • Carly, you make me so happy to read this. The shoes are also the one thing that I may change, but I do like to feature, as you say, the clothes that you actually wear. Aw I mentioned my DC trip on Twitter but not on the blog, I should have thought to do that too. I dined at Hook fish restaurant on Sat night (and tried my first oyster) and then had brunch at Oyamel on Sunday. Do you know these places? xx

  14. fshnonmymind says:

    This outfit is just perfect!! I love the soft tones of your top and shorts and that clutch is just the perfect accent pop. I couldn’t resist Curly in the City’s clutches either and have 2 myself.

  15. Pingback: Poolside Life with H&M. | StyleOnTheCouch

  16. great pairing of neons and neutrals. so many people used white as their neutral, which i don’t believe is actually neutral. glad you enjoyed dc – my home city!

    cheryl

    a peek of chic

  17. You nailed the neon+neutral challenge. Love the full-on beige clothes with that pop of the yellow bag. I feel like most people would have trouble combining a beige top and bottom, but you really pulled it off! I’ll have to check back in with your blog later!

    http://abcdformichelle.blogspot.com/

  18. Ritournelle says:

    I finally have time to catch up with my blog reading!
    Love this outfit, especially the lace shorts. Très chic! Now I’m looking forward to reading the other poolside post with the handsome lifeguard…

  19. Flara says:

    fabulous look. I adore your bag:) so summer and pretty:)

Leave a Reply

