Poolside Life with H&M.

I’m loving H&M‘s cute selection of silky tops and tiny shorts at the moment.  I got some ideas for this look from the H&M Life feature on their website: if you haven’t checked it out before then please do.  I really like this feature.  Whilst the content is largely variations on a theme highlighting their collection – articles such as ‘Ways To Wear It‘ will give you several outfit variations within an overall ‘style’ (the one I linked to features my ruffle vest from an earlier blog post); ‘Style Insights‘ looks at seasonal trends and motifs – other articles look at noteworthy issues such as sustainability in fashion and explore cosmetics and beauty trends.

This outfit here is great because it keeps me cool as well as allowing me to stick in my comfort zone with black.  My hair is just covering the straps of the vest top so I should tell you they are spaghetti style and adjustable which is great for when you want a little more control of the fit around the chest.  It flares out slightly at the bottom too so I feel this can be worn either tucked in or loose, depending on what you want to pair it with.  I’d love to try it next with a pleated, flared maxi skirt, so watch this space! I found these shorts for just $12 at H&M and they are teeny tiny so I realise not everyone might feel comfortable in them, but sometimes we just need to throw caution to the wind…

I’m trying to keep a straight face (albeit still fashion-blogger-posing) in the photo above because the delightful pool attendant who was going about his job was making a huge effort to stay out of shot when I was trying to get him INto it!

I also wanted to mention the D.C. hotel I stayed in – The Palomar.  The staff were welcoming, they had free coffee in reception in the morning and some free wine later in the afternoon (I could not partake in this as well since I got a free “Glass Slipper” cocktail from the hotel bar that evening, and all pre-dinner, phew!)

The hotel’s outdoor pool was perfect for a cooling swim in the early evening after a hot day sightseeing:

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you’re thinking of staying in D.C.

Wearing: Black vest top and shorts both H&M.  Gold flat sandals – unknown (frustrating, because they are soooo comfy). Drop necklace -gift from a friend; Oliver Bonas.

This entry was posted in Fashion, H&M, shorts, Style, weekend looks. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Poolside Life with H&M.

  1. Dempeaux says:

    Now I want to buy short shorts, but it’s freezing here! I’m definitely getting some in summer 🙂

  2. LittleRus says:

    I wish I had your legs… And then I also I wish we had the weather here for summer clothes… Then everything would be perfect. 🙂
    x

  3. Cee says:

    All of your photos of beautiful summer weather and teeny tiny summer shorts are making me incredibly envious… I can still count on one hand the number of days I’ve been able to go outdoors without a coat this spring! If I’m ever in DC, I’ll definitely investigate The Palomar- it looks and sounds lovely 🙂
    xox,
    Cee

  4. agirlastyle says:

    I love that you went to DC (I lived there for a few months and it remains one of my favourite places in the world – partly for the incredible history, and partly because of the happy memories it holds to me). I hope you had fun? Would love to know your favourite parts.

    And this is such a perfect outfit for those humid/scorching DC days. Love the hottie pool guy in the background too 😉

    Briony xx

    http://agirlastyle.com

  5. you look so simple and chic here! gorgeous!!

    http://mstwirlyskirts.com

  6. Simple and pretty, YES I loved the flats!
    Oh gosh, I laughed about the pool attendant (bad for him, would make fans here!).
    Well, you’re going to poll and here in Brazil we’re taking our coats and jackets out of the closet!! But i admit I love this season!!

    You look gorgeous even with the most clean outfit!!

    LUV U!

  7. carly says:

    Perfection…somehow you make all black look SO summer time chic:)
    Heading to DC this weekend actually for a good friends wedding…we are staying at the Hotel Monaco…looking forward to a “grownups” night away w hubs. Should make for a great time.

    Love the arms of the pool boy….too funny!
    C

  8. Beautiful!
    simple and chic
    I love your shorts ❤
    Always love your outfit
    My mom said so!

    ♥ sugarpuff ♥
    Pinkie Anggia ☺
    http://pinkieanggia.tumblr.com

  9. Love the shorts and top! H&M has the cutest little summer things. This post makes me sooooo ready to fly out for my beach vacay in the morning … cannot wait! Yay! Happy first day of the summer darling!

    Sandy at Ooh La Frou Frou
    http://oohlafroufrou.blogspot.com

  10. Reena says:

    What a gorgeous outfit! I wear very little black but really love the look of this.

  11. mpchouchou says:

    I am convinced you can make anything look good my dear. This looks so pool chic, I don’t believe it is from H&M. DC trip sounds fabulous, can’t wait to hear more about it. Any spot that has free wine and cocktails is a win win for me.

  12. Kate says:

    AH you always look so flawless! AND I would kill for your figure! 🙂

    xo KLW

  13. Milla says:

    You look amazing – I love the simplicity of this. Very city chic! xx

  14. Lorien says:

    You look great. Love the simplicity of the look, and the way the top hangs on. The hotel pool area looks great, wish I could just lounge around in some sun for a bit of R&R – much needed. Anyway as usual, an excellent post!

  15. Ritournelle says:

    Sarah I am sitting here overwhelmed by the heat wave with not much energy to do anything more than click on my mouse and am suddenly very jealous of you and your light clothes, the deep blue pool and that sexy gentleman in the background!

Leave a Reply

