Some Sparkling Style At Alice Yim NY

I met with the gorgeous Lynzy from Sparkling Footsteps in NYC last week.  Lynzy featured me on her blog a few months back, so it was great to finally say hi and take a whirlwind shopping tour of NYC with her.  We had lunch at The Bryant Park Grill and hopped to some of the sample sales we found listed on my NYC sales bible OnTheSly.

Alice Yim was our first stop after lunch.  OnTheSly highlighted Alice’s designs as having a feminine, modern and minimalist feel.  Check, check and check for me!  Inside the sale there was a limited range of clothing available, but this included key pieces from Alice’s SS11 collection: silk fitted white blazers, jersey dresses and shorts.

It was a huge bonus that Alice herself was there to talk us through the sale items.  She created an amazing outfit for Lynzy, pairing a white blazer with some black silk shorts for an edgy yet feminine look.  Lynzy looked fabulous – head over to her blog next week to see the full outfit post.

Born in Shanghai, Alice grew up in Hong Kong and moved to America to study at the age of 17. Upon graduating from the Academy of Arts University in San Francisco, she relocated to New York to pursue a career in fashion. While freelancing for Michael Kors and private label Geoffrey Beene she worked to perfect her skills. Realizing her dream of starting her own label, Alice created her first knitwear collection in Autumn 2007. Since its debut, Alice Yim New York has evolved into a series of collections that are currently carried in boutiques nationwide.

Although I was technically only there for the sale, a dress from Alice’s AW12 collection grabbed my attention immediately and I hope to buy this when the clothing is available to buy.  The “Patience” dress has a shiny fabric, a belted waist and a beautiful billowing style:

Alice tells me the AW collection will be available to purchase from August/September. I’m first in line.  You can follow Alice on Twitter – she is off to explore London next week and to see if she can find some new outlets to sell her designs so I wish her the best of luck – you can also check out her website and the full AW12 collection here.

This entry was posted in Alice Yim, Black Dress, Blogger friends, Fashion, sample sale, Style, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Some Sparkling Style At Alice Yim NY

  1. Aw, Lynzy is such a sweetie. How great that you two hooked up!

  2. LittleRus says:

    Thank you for the story and intro – that black dress is beautiful… Will look so gorgeous on your delicate frame! Hope you get a chance to buy this baby soon. x

  3. beautiful designs, love the clean cuts and colors… looks like you had a great day out, ladies! will check out her blog, lovely! xoxo

  4. RosaLovesDC says:

    How fun that you and Lynzy got to hang out for lunch and a sample sale.

  5. carly says:

    So fun that you and Lynzy met up in NYC….I love her blog..and loved your feature.
    You are just the sample sale QUEEN…I have friends who have lived in NYC for years and haven’t hit as many sample sales as you…hat goes off:)
    Hope you have a great week.
    C

  6. I do love the simplicity and minimalism here! these pieces are gorgeous!

    http://mstwirlyskirts.com

  7. Sonia says:

    So cute that you ladies hit the sale together! I was supposed to go but had a family emergency. Next time…!

    P.S. I just discovered your blog & love it! I am your newest reader 🙂

    In Pursuit of Style

  8. Dempeaux says:

    Another great find! I’ve never heard of this label. I love that you got to talk to the creator – what an opportunity!

  9. mpchouchou says:

    I love seeing two of my favourite bloggers unite! Alice looks like a fabulous discovery (perhaps a quick stop when I am down is in order?) and I agree, the patience dress is a stunner. Sleek, modern, slightly deco vibe. Love it!

  10. Michelle of Chellbellz says:

    ugh I WANT that Sweater!!!

Leave a Reply

