Make-Up Artistry With Attitude.

At the recent Jones Magazine event at the SoHo Bloomingdales I was so happy to meet Lauren Napier, a stunning looking make-up artist (the best advert for her work!) based in New York City.

Lauren has worked with such brands as Estee Lauder and MAC Cosmetics and her work has featured in Vogue, Vanity Fair, Grazia and GQ.  She is also part of the team that created Nude Attitude – a creamy, coral based lipstick designed to meet the needs of all women.  When Lauren described the idea behind the lipstick to me at the Jones Magazine party, I was so impressed with the idea of the perfect nude lip and the versatility of the shade, I knew I had to feature her on the blog and tell you all about it, Blog Reader.
I asked Lauren some questions about her background and her work, along with the thinking behind Nude Attitude:
Q1 Was was it that attracted you to the career of a make up artist?
I was a young girl, in grade school. I was in a class play, my character was a witch. I was able to completely transform myself, even as a young girl I recognized the power of makeup. 
Q2 How do you go about creating a look?
I am a big fan of enhanced natural beauty. I chat and observe my clients to feel their preferences and concerns. I assess the skin tone and bone structure and go from there. 
Q3 What has been your favorite job / work that you have done?
I am lucky because my job is different every day. I have been fortunate to work in all aspects of the makeup industry, so I could never pick just one! My favorite jobs are always going to rooftops, penthouses and remote locations that I wouldn’t have access to otherwise. 
Q4 Who inspires you and your work…
I am inspired by sunshine, coffee table books, interior design, old movies, and people – I live in New York city, if you’re not inspired by the people in this city you’re living in a tunnel. 
Q5 What are the key make-up looks this summer, and what advice would you give on creating them?
Powerful lips are a trend that I really enjoy. No matter the size of your lip, wearing color will always brighten a smile.
Q6 What beauty or cosmetic product could you not be without?
There isn’t just one! I love Mario Badescu’s Aloe Moisturizer SPF 15, The Clairsonic, mascara and blush!
Q7 Tell us about “nude attitude”…

Nude Attitude came to life when I met with the founders of Three Custom Color Cosmetics to create a nude lipstick to meet the needs for all women. Nude Attitude is a coral based, creamy nude lipstick fused with shades of pink and beige.   Nude Attitude is gorgeous on its own but can be paired with liner and gloss for variety. Nude Attitude is a rich nude lipstick  that has been worn by Zoe Kravitz, Bethanny Frankel and Amber Heard.
Q8 What advice would you give to other people wanting to work in your industry?
This is a tough industry and you are your own boss, propriety and punctuality will go a long way.
Q9 Finally, what’s in your personal make-up bag?
I will look! My personal makeup bag is spilling over with goodies. I wear NARS foundation, Three Custom Color Watercolors for cheeks , Becca Brow powderArmani Eyes to Kill Mascara, MAC’s Smolder eyeliner, Nude Attiitude lipstick or MAC’s Rubywoo Lipstick , Bvulgari Rose and La Vanilla fragrances, L’Occitane hand cream and 3Lab Lip Balm. Oh, and my pencil sharpener!
Lauren has kindly supplied me with one of the nude attitude lipsticks to giveaway.  All you need to do to be in with a chance to win is to leave a comment telling me about your favourite brand/shade of lipstick and why you choose this again and again.  Lauren will help me a pick a winner that inspires us with their favourite.  Make sure you leave me a contact email address below.  Good luck!
This entry was posted in beauty, Cosmetics, Fashion, Lauren Napier, Style. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Make-Up Artistry With Attitude.

  1. Aggie says:

    Oooh gorgeous portraits of Lauren! Did you take them yourself?

    (I’ve only started wearing barely any makeup so… no fave lipsticks so far!)

  2. Kasia Dietz says:

    I am currently in love with Shu Uemura lip gloss in a bright yet natural red. Subtle & sexy! Though hard to find!

  3. This color looks lovely!!! I would love to try it:)

    my go to shade is Clinique Delovely and I always choose this because it is a perfect sheer feeling on the lips and adds a bit of nude shimmer for a natural but glam look!

  4. Abby Liga says:

    Lauren does amazing work! I had the opportunity to work with her last year in France…seriously talented artist.

  5. Cee says:

    I have to admit, I’m completely fascinated by the idea of one lipstick shade that works for all skintones. The shade I’ve gone back to time and again isn’t anything nearly so sophisticated- it isn’t even a lipstick! I got my very tube of Bonne Bell’s Dr. Pepper lip balm for Christmas when I was nine, and it has been my go-to shade ever since. It’s glossy, moisturising and gives just a hint of cherry colour to the lips, almost like a stain. It’s one of my essentials 🙂
    xox,
    Cee

  6. Miche'l says:

    I LOVE MY NUDE ATTITUDE, LAUREN IS A PHENOMENAL ARTIST!

  7. I totally get the underplaying of makeup to enhance natural beauty and therefore the nude attitude lippy, but I have to admit that I really like to see strong bold coloured lips on a woman – Deep matte reds and oranges are my favs.
    Paul
    ps . I am excluded from the giveaway 🙂 just wanted to chip in my thoughts

  8. everydayglamour says:

    I love my Chantacalle lipstick in the color Sari Rose. The lipstick is not too matte and not too shiney, and it looks natural on me without looking washed out.
    Also, what a great post!!

  9. Oh, I adore..well, we do not have all the super fabulous US Cosmetic Brands unfortunately like Cover Girl, Sally Hanson etc… I love to use those products! But over here I mostly favor Rimmel London & Jade Maybelline NY! It’s a great combination for the City Life! one is more experimental & adventurous ( Rimmel ) and the other is more classic & clean ( Jade Maybelline )! best of both worlds! xoxo

    Cam

    • I used to be a big fan of Rimmel when I was younger,but I have probable transitioned over to the superbrands in the US now, you’re so right! I remain faithful to Avon in the UK however, and Maybelline have a fabulous mascara I use regularly too. Thanks for popping in, Cam! xx

  10. carly says:

    Wow…she is GORG!
    I love a great nude lip (although recently been experimenting w color) I am obsessed with Chanel’s Boy- pinky nude that is great for day or evening.
    Loved her saying….if you aren’t inspired by people (in NYC) you are living in a tunnel….SO TRUE!
    Have a fabulous weekend girl and thanks for a great giveaway.
    C

  11. Seriously, could she be anymore stunning? She could sell any kind of beauty product as long as she said she used it;) I really like NARS matte lip pencils. The matte color has stay power and it’s simple to apply. I have about 3 different colors in heavy rotation. NARS pigment also can’t be beat.

  12. Ritournelle says:

    Loved this post! I view makeup as an art and the way a woman uses it tells so much about her. I always enjoy reading about people who work behind the scenes.
    My favorite lipstick is Le Rouge G Le Brillant by Guerlain in Betsy. It’s a light purple shade which is actually quite natural and goes with anything. Plus it’s extra-moisturizing and can be applied very easily and quickly. The main reason I buy it over and over again though is the packaging as the lipstick doubles as a pocket mirror: a small mirror opens when you use the lipstick so you can see exactly what you’re doing and check your overall look.

  13. Thank you all for your lovely comments and very kind words. I was filled with excitement and delight while creating Nude Attitude Lipstick. Nude Attitude is vibrant, yet neutral and can be worn rolling straight out of bed with over-sized shades and a latte OR perfected for a wedding day, a fierce editorial or red carpet event.

    Follow me on Twitter http://twitter.com/#!/NAPIERMAKEUP for more on my new projects and daily happenings in the world of celebrity makeup!

    With gratitude and “Nude Attitude” –

    Lauren

Leave a Reply

