Specs and Sass

This Wednesday I attended the launch of the Warby Parker sunwear range at the delightful Bird in Williamsburg.  I’ve never been to this boutique before.  Alongside the preview of the amazing new Warby sunglasses (more about those in a moment), I had a chance to browse the store and was impressed with the clothing nestled within Bird – they stock Isabel Marant, Tucker and 3.1 Phillip Lim clothing alongside accessories from Commes des Garcons, Proenza Schouler and Tsumori Chisato to name a few…

Most interesting to me was the discovery of this amazing navy dress with neon straps by a brand I had not heard of before, VPL. I saw this sassy dress, in the black version with neon orange straps on the blog fashables – a photo snapped in SoHo of model-off-duty Mathilde Frachon. I loved the dress but had no idea where it was from until I stumbled across it last night.

Lily my delightful attendant at Bird is currently looking into getting hold of the black version for me, but I also like the navy here (any opinions, Blog Reader?)  I’m still in need of some clothes to beat the NY humidity, and this feels perfect….

Items that caught my eye from VPL are below:

Let me return now to Warby Parker’s new sunwear collection.  Aligned closely to their range of spectacles and still offering designer glasses at affordable prices, styles for their sunwear offer sturdy, chunky dark frames as well as some wonderful variations on a tortoiseshell theme, such as the Mabel below.

This hexagonal frame was inspired by the geometric shapes of the 50s and 60s and I loved this pair on me – it was definitely one of my favourites for women.  Warby offer excellent service to their customers (I visited their Union Square location and was attended to with both patience and a great sense of humour – some frames just didn’t suit me at ALL, but still most all were considered!!) and they have a try at home service which is quite unique.  If you are near a Warby centre I would definitely email one of their representatives about a visit for trying on, but this home try on service is a good option if distance and / or time is an issue.

And so, Blog Reader, this was my Wednesday night.  Specs and Sass – a fabulous evening!

This entry was posted in Bird Brooklyn, Black Dress, Blue, Dress, Fashion, neon, NYC, Spectacles, Style, Style Inspiration, Sunglasses, Uncategorized, VPL, Williamsburg. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Specs and Sass

  1. bonkasaurus says:

    Please tell me you bought that dress. It is so cute! its unique to the common floor length dresses with the flower prints. VPL visible panty line??

    great post

    -Bianca at http://theinbetweengirls.wordpress.com/

  2. lissy says:

    Looks like a super fun Wednesday night! The dress is great and navy is great (and very close to black)!

    Lissy
    http://www.agirlinboston.com

  3. LittleRus says:

    Beautiful dress!

  4. Ryan says:

    Thanks a ton for sharing our post!

    Ryan

  5. dempeaux says:

    This dress reminds me of some lingerie that you reviewed a while back, but I forget which one! Anyway, great fit! Did you get the black?

    • Hey Sarah – I’ve just gone back over my lingerie lust posts – I wonder if you mean Huit or The Lake and the Stars? The straps and the neon give it that kind of look. Me and my lingerie, hey 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by…

  6. Cee says:

    I’m not familiar with VPL, but now that I’ve seen this dress, I want to be! Personally, I would choose navy over black… mainly because it’s almost black, but not quite, so I would get to tell myself I was wearing colour 😉 Plus I’ll choose turquoise over orange any day.
    xox,
    Cee

    • Thanks for your feedback – at first I was all set on the black, but now I’m changing my mind for the navy – your turquoise over orange comment might have swayed it for me!

  7. Love the VPL dress, the navy is such a great color for you! If you like the line make sure to check Gilt Group, they feature VPL every once and a while at a great price point. I’ve seen some really great pieces pop up on there before!

    xx
    http://westmountfashionista.com

    • Oo thanks that’s a great tip. I did some exploring and they have some related dresses for Autumn, Barneys had a few previews that looked pretty fabulous too. Thanks so much Jessica!

  8. mpchouchou says:

    Love, love, love the VPL dress and I can’t believe you didn’t run across it before? I would have recommended it had I known. You can sometimes snatch it up at Saks on sale. PS, I need to get to Bird. I have heard so many great things about it. You had me at Marant.

  9. I love navy!!! 🙂 looks great

  10. Marissa says:

    But your such a lingerie junky! How could you not have not about VPL? I’ll give you a pass for being a Brit. 😉 I love the dress you have on! I haven’t seen many of their clothes (just lingerie), but now I want them.

  11. Ritournelle says:

    I love the VPL dress. Get it!! 😉

Leave a Reply

