A Mad Yet Stylish Day

This morning I attended the ‘Bloggers Event’ held by Banana Republic at their Rockefeller Centre store, to launch their capsule collection in the style of Mad Men, a collaboration with the wonderful Janie Bryant.  StyleCaster posted a fabulous behind the scenes exclusive of the lookbook shoot with Simon Doonan, Creative Director of Banana Republic and Janie Bryant creating vintage inspired styles this week (picture above, and below).  At the Bloggers Event today, I had the opportunity to hear more about their collaboration as well as style my own look using pieces from the collection.

When I finished pondering whether I was a ‘Betty’, ‘Joan’ or a ‘Peggy’, and why, no matter what he does, I still love Don Draper, I got to work with the collection.

Items for women are feminine yet modern – high waisted skirts, tie neck blouses, fitted trench coats and silky fabrics.  For the guys?  Lots of sharp tailoring (as one might expect) and attention to detail in the accessories – tie bars, money clips, fedora hats.

The 65 piece collection of clothing and accessories for men and women hits stores tomorrow, August 11th.  My top picks are below:

Janie has been a busy lady lately.  Not only has she collaborated with Banana Republic. she has launched her own website and has now returned to work as a costume designer on the set of Mad Men, filming series 4 of the hit show which will be shown next year.  She’s also getting married in September (congratulations Janie!) so I don’t know how she fits it all in!

Which items from the Mad Men inspired collection are you lusting after, Blog Reader?  50s styles not for you? What other eras inspire you?

This entry was posted in Banana Republic, Capsule Collection, Don Draper, Fashion, high waisted, Janie Bryant, Joan Holloway, Mad Men, NYC, Style, Tailoring. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Mad Yet Stylish Day

  1. I don’t think that we have Banana Republic in Paris, but maybe do they deliver in France ? 🙂
    I really like the last picture, with the pants, perfect !

  2. Milla says:

    Good brand (that’s where I got the blue skirt you like). I really like the Regent’s Street brand and since BR isn’t sold in Paris, I often stop there in London. I must say, I find the UK prices very high compared to in the US.

    PS – nice top you’re wearing!

  3. Emmie says:

    I love the picture of you darling! Banana Republic – an interesting one…whenever I go stateside – Miami in particular, I find LOADS of things to put in my suitcase to lug back to the UK. I also love the Outlets – mega bargains.

    However, Banana Republic in the UK – err. no thanks. The one on the Kings Rd never has anything inspiring in it. Now presumably they have some of same stock, so I’m wondering what is with that?! Haha.

    To tell you the truth I dont even bother going in there anymore even though I live in a black mac that I got from the US a year ago. Hmmm…

    Love to you as always…

    Em x
    http://www.emmiesdarlings.blogspot.com

  4. I am so jealous that you went to this:) It looks like a blast!!

    xoxo
    http://mstwirlyskirts.com

  5. Catherine says:

    how exciting!

  6. What a wonderful event for you to attend! I’ve been really looking forward to seeing this collection, thanks so much for the sneak peak. As a former vintage buyer, I’m a sucker for anything 50s and 60s. The nipped waists and feminine cuts of these eras are amazing. The look pictured on you looks gorgeous!

    xx
    Jessica
    http://WestmountFashionista.com

  7. Cee says:

    I’m so intrigued by this collection- Banana Republic is hosting a similar event here tomorrow- but I’ve always had very bad luck with the fit at the store… I’m hoping this collection with be different, because the 1950s is one of my favourite fashion eras 🙂
    xox,
    Cee

  8. Ritournelle says:

    My dear, you look fantastic wearing 1960s fashion, hair and makeup! This collection looks most interesting; I’ll be sure to check it out in store.
    I remember being intrigued by the way Faye wears her scarves like necklaces and noting I should try that out some time. I was also inspired by the makeup on the show, especially Betty Draper’s red lips. In all,the whole styling on Mad Men is a major contribution to the quality and success of the show.

  9. Love your look – uber chic! I MUST go and have a play in Banana Republic next time I get some time in London… love their pieces. What a fabulous event to attend! x

  10. CinZilicious says:

    Excellent outfit – i love your ribbon blouse!!!=D You must have had a fab day!!!

    Cinz
    http://cinzee.wordpress.com

  11. Cara says:

    I am more of a 60’s girl-but these are FAB!
    Lilac and Grey

  12. Michelle says:

    How wonderful! Looks like a great event.

    x
    Michelle
    http://www.michellesstylefile.blogspot.com

  13. I would die to go to an event like that! How fun!! 🙂

  14. Christy says:

    Looks like you had a great time at the event! I have heard so much about this collection and I have to say I am loving the high waist skirts and the silk tie blouses. I adore 50’s style fashions including the full skirt dresses!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Xo – Christy

  15. The look you put together is great! I guess I would want to be a Joan. At least sartorially.

    verenahafner.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

