Friday Lingerie Lust: Bliss Lau

Slightly unusual ‘Lust’ post this week.  I’m developing an interest in accessories alongside lingerie; you may have seen my post on Armor which I was introduced to by Kiki de Montparnasse, a collection I saw again at a preview of the forthcoming designs from Between The Sheets, complimenting the intimates perfectly.

This week I want to show you these beautiful images of ballerinas shot by Eric Guillemain for Bliss Lau

“Invariably seeking to blur the lines between the garment and accessory, Bliss Lau represents the juxtaposition of culture, design and aesthetic; half Chinese and half American, Bliss was raised in Honolulu, Hawaii and educated in New York City. Bliss launched her handbag collection immediately after completing a degree in apparel design from Parsons School of Design and finally four years later transitioned the collection into the markedly distinct body-jewelry of today.”

“By virtue of her approach to design and accessories without boundaries, jewelry has become a new medium to Bliss: a method to reshape and enhance the most beautiful and forgotten parts of the body. All of the jewelry is created and designed three-dimensionally using traditional garment draping techniques. Each season, Bliss focuses on a new part of the body to enhance and decorate. The jewelry draws inspiration from history, the study of Hawaiian culture, as well as New York’s architecture such as the Brooklyn Bridge and Chrysler building”

Whilst this current collection may seem elaborate (I love the architectural influences here) Bliss Lau also creates more simplistic jewellery designs:

And also designs for men:

Mostly I am blown away by the dancing images for the new collection (the designs also remind me a little of Fritz Lang’s Metropolis) and well, for something different this week, I introduce you, Blog Reader, to Bliss Lau:

For stockists please click here.

Have a fabulous weekend Blog Reader – I’m taking a little road trip to Canada (Montreal and Eastern Townships) with my blogger friend Lani of Mon Petit Chou Chou – you can follow our journey on this tumblr where I’ll upload some photos of the trip, as well as posting a write up of the adventure when I’m back in NYC.

A final thank you to Mariah for sending me the images for this post.
This entry was posted in Ballet, Between The Sheets, Bliss Lau, Fashion, jewellery, lingerie, Style and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Friday Lingerie Lust: Bliss Lau

  1. These are pretty cool!! I like the cape one! We’re doing a £100 giveaway for DPT lingerie if you’re interested. JS xx
    http://januarysublime.com

  2. How cool to style that edgy stuff with the milkmaid plait! No idea where/when you could wear that but the pieces look amazing. xx


    verenahafner.wordpress.com

  3. dempeaux says:

    I like the construction, but I just don’t understand when you would wear them! 🙂

  4. Molliee says:

    these are fab pieces! congrats on winning my giveaway BTW!!! email me your address to molliee_martin@yahoo.com

  5. allegra says:

    lovely photos

    wanna join the BUMBLE AND BUMBLE (the model’s American hair product brand) GIVEAWAY on my blog? click here: http://allegrabj.blogspot.com/2011/09/join-giveaway.html

  6. carly says:

    You and your lingerie…that would be a good blog spinoff for you….lol.
    Love that shot with all the ballerinas..the softness of ballet w the structure of these pieces.
    Very cool…not sure where you find these fabulous items…Thanks for sharing and Happy Labor Day weekend.
    C

    • I do something thinks I should start a lingerie blog! Maybe in the future… who knows! I’m going to the fashion week presentation for Bliss Lau so I’ll be sure to find out about stockists too. I’m interested to see the designs up close.

  7. CinZilicious says:

    Body jewelry, I like that idea and something different for sure. I actually saw these pics a few days ago and thought it looked really beautiful and definitely shows creativity. The ballerina shot is lovely:D

    Hope you had a fun and fab road trip!!! Can’t wait to see the pics!

    Cinz
    http://www.cinzee.wordpress.com

  8. Reena says:

    I love Bliss Lau but this collection is absolutely incredible! Thanks for sharing.

  9. Pingback: The Art of Navigation: Bliss Lau | StyleOnTheCouch

  10. Pingback: Body Jewelry: Bliss Lau - Live Fast Mag - Accessories

Leave a Reply

