New York Fashion Week Diary Part IV: Fashions Night Out

After the Tadashi Shoji show and Candela presentation on Thursday, it was time for photos at Lincoln Center with Mon Petit Chou Chou and the fun of Fashions Night Out (FNO).  First stop was to meet up with Lynzy of Sparkling Footsteps at Bloomingdales for fashion fuel and a cocktail.  Having waved a swift hello to Rachel Zoe on her way into the store, we headed to Alice Yim‘s trunk show to take a look at her new Spring/Summer collection: a gorgeous mix of chiffon skirts and shorts in bold poppy red and electric blue, lace tops, draped dresses and lotus flower prints:

Photo below from Alice Yim – you can see more on Alice’s Facebook Page:

After Alice Yim where else to indulge my British-ness but at the SoHo branch of Reiss, to explore their new Fall collection whilst sipping “London lemonade” cocktails and having our photos taken in that classic oh-so-British symbol, the red phone booth

Whilst Lani and her fabulous red Milly pants were highjacked for a street style interview, I browsed the new looks in store (the entire lookbook for the Reiss Fall collection is now available online.)  Here are my favourites from the mainline collection – I’m totally in love with the halter dress, second image from the left – and there is some very chic tailoring in store right now:

Final stop on Fashions Night Out was lingerie boutique Journelle.  There is always a heap of beautiful items on display in Journelle but that didn’t stop them from filling the store even further with a DJ set, a bar area, and a few live models…. Sadly I did not win the raffle nor did I purchase my coveted item of the insertion bra by VPL (I think it was at this point that Lani dragged me away from all things lingerie related and for the moment my credit card thanks her)

Back home, a perfect end to Fashions Night Out was achieved when my friend Anne arrived at my apartment bearing macarons.  Anne wrote an account of her own FNO along with review of the new Laduree in NYC on her blog and you can read it here.  At this point, the Marni heels were consigned to the back of the wardrobe, wine was consumed and macarons were tasted. Until next year…..

This entry was posted in Alice Yim, Fashion, Fashion Show, Fashions Night Out, lingerie, Reiss, Style and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to New York Fashion Week Diary Part IV: Fashions Night Out

  1. lissy says:

    OK you and Lani look just lovely as always, I love the Reiss looks you chose and I must immediately pop to Anne’s blog for her Laduree post!!

  2. I’ve seen quite a few posts about Alice Yim – I was invited, but didn’t get to go! So much running around the city occurs on FNO.

    XO
    M

  3. Cee says:

    I’ve seen a few posts about FNO so far, but I think yours best captures the wonderful chaos of it… Running around from event to event until your feet are exhausted, then finally crashing with girlfriends for a much deserved glass of wine (and macarons- goodness I’m envious that Laduree has popped up in NYC!) Sounds like a fabulous night 🙂
    xox,
    Cee

    • I think “wonderful chaos” is the perfect term for the evening. I felt quite claustrophobic in SoHo at one point, it was packed with people. but I’m pleased that I managed to visit three of my favourite stores/designers.

  4. Icklebabe says:

    Brilliant post, almost like I was there… Almost 😉 love the new Reiss collection, like you I think that halter dress is to-die-for!!! Glad to here you have lovely friends popping over with macaroons and wine too, to kerp you going. Again can I Please borrow your fabulous life ;D x

  5. carly says:

    AW, LOVE this….you look like you had so much fun with the girls…i am jealous…although I had fun at my own FNO- I was working not playing…boohoohoo.
    I heard NYC was just sheer chaos…especially soho area ….I hope you all had a fabulously fashionable time..from the looks of it, you did!!!!
    C

  6. LittleRus says:

    Looks like you are having so much fun in NY! Shame, you didn’t get a chance to treat yourself to some lingerie, though. xxx

  7. Molliee says:

    I definitely agree with you on that halter dress – so gorgeous!

  8. Whooo mama, was that day a whirlwind!! I am still recovering from all the fabulous fashion. Thank you so much for having me tag along to Alice Yim, she is a delight and I can’t wait to get some of her designs in my closet. PS, you need to buy those Reiss gold plated booties!!

  9. Aw, maybe I should have gone to FNO after all! It sounds like fun. I had it loosely planned, then saw the queues from London online and decided I couldn’t deal with that.


    http://verenahafner.wordpress.com

  10. Kate says:

    Aw, you all look so beautiful and it sounds like such a great time!

  11. dempeaux says:

    Looks AMAZING, you lucky thing 🙂

  12. CinZilicious says:

    Looks like you ladies had an AMAZING time!!

    I’ve not heard of Alice Yim but chiffon and draped dresses is enough to make me like her!!!

    p.s. what cocktail were u having?

    Cinz
    http://cinzee.wordpress.com

    • That was the “london lemonade” – a gin based cocktail, very tasty! Alice Yim has a small range but her collection for Spring Summer is very feminine, do let me know if you check out her website (she is also on facebook) xo

  13. Kasia Dietz says:

    looks like a fabulous fashion night out NYC! I LOVE the new Reiss collection, tres chic!

  14. you look gorgeous! i LOVE your shoes!! 😉
    xx ~ ks

  15. Ritournelle says:

    It’s nice to see your FNO night in pictures after hearing about it 🙂
    By the way I went past Ladurée again yesterday and there was a long line of people waiting to get inside the store. I’m glad I didn’t have to experience that that night!

Leave a Reply

