StyleOnTheCouch Loves: BCBG

BCBG Max Azria‘s Spring Summer 2012 presentation revealed a series of bold geometric shapes on the catwalk.  Despite the saturation of orange and teal colours which aren’t usually to my personal taste, I was a huge fan of this collection!  I loved the pleats combined with the chiffon and the many variations on a theme without anything that strayed too far from the overall silhouette

Another reason I may have been drawn to this collection is the athletic, sporty feel to it.  I often think that clothing loses a degree of sex appeal when this is done but Max and Lubov Azria retained this with folds of chiffon, a side slit here and there and some well positioned cut outs.

I asked freelance fashion journalist and wardrobe stylist Matthew Anderson to tell me more about the BCBG woman and the philosophy behind the brand.  I met Matthew in New York through my friend Ashley (Cocktail Chic) – he works as a stylist within the retail division for BCBG Max Azria in SoHo, NY:

“BCBG, which stand for bon chic bon genre; meaning good style good attitude, is a luxury women’s brand founded in 1989. The collections are geared towards the “urban muse.”  This is a woman that is confident and stylish. She is always keeping pace with her ever changing lifestyle and consistently evolving needs. Each piece of the collection is curated with the female silhouette in mind, accentuating her beauty and femininity with a polished aesthetic.  Founder/ Head Designer Max Azria and Chief Creative Director Lubov Azria are constantly researching to pull out the hidden and special details of each fabrication to create a covetable wardrobe for the modern fashionista”

Back in Montreal I was exploring BCBGeneration, the younger and more casual line of the BCBG brand.  I found this gorgeous black cowl back dress with a fun asymmetrical hemline that felt like perfect day wear for me.  I think that the ‘Generation’ range is competitively priced and offers similar styles to the contemporary and designer collections.  I’ve worn my dress non stop since I bought it so already I feel it was a fabulous investment.  I’ve paired it several times with my Marni heels from Moss Austin:

This dress is definitely going into the suitcase for my trip to California next week.  What do you think of the BCBG Spring / Summer collection, Blog Reader? And what do you think of the BCBG collections overall?

This entry was posted in BCBG, Black Dress, Fashion, Marni, MOSS Austin, Style and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to StyleOnTheCouch Loves: BCBG

  1. Marie says:

    You can never go wrong with a fantastic LBD! You look fabulous, as always 🙂

    I actually just bought a BCBG dress today at a Vintage Expo – of all places! Hmmm, I know what you’re thinking… it’s not vintage! Their reasoning behind selling it at the expo is because it has a vintage feel to it. It’s a gorgeous green short/long hemmed floor length silk wrap dress. I cannot wait to wear it! So to answer your question, Yes!, I’m a fan of BCBG.

    PS – Not sure where you’re headed in Cali – but the Bay Area is phenomenal! So much to do, see and eat 🙂

    Dirty Pink Cardigan

    • You know, vintage or not, that dress sounds incredible. I hope you’ll let me know when you post it on your blog? Feels like we were channelling each other recently then! Thanks for the California tips – I’m certainly going to check this out xo

  2. Neris says:

    gorgeous look! i’m in love with your shoes 🙂

    Happy Monday!
    xxx,
    http://fashionfractions.com

  3. Aggie says:

    The hemline is gorgeous! And I agree, there’s something about BCBG and BCBGeneration that is just so effortlessly chic.

  4. I’m not normally a fan of the sporty look but it is done so well here, I love it!

  5. Molliee says:

    love the geometric patterns in their collection! This dress is great on you – perfect LBD:) and those Marni shoes are showstoppers!

    • A few people asked for pics as we entered the Lincoln Centre when I wore them to the Tadashi Show – I was so pleased I bought them, they go so well with my all black outfits, with the shoes being the focus. Thanks for stopping by, Ms Twirly Skirts xo

  6. Cee says:

    I have to admit, I’m a sucker for all things BCBG. I’m always so impressed by the way they manage to make all of their lines unique and wearable. Sporty isn’t really my style, but I think they’ve done it in such a way that even the most feminine girl could pull it off. And I love your Generation dress, the hemline is just lovely!
    xox,
    Cee

  7. Ritournelle says:

    You ladies really traveled in style. I love this dress!
    I usually like BCBG collections too: they’re very wearable, timeless yet modern too. And did you know Max Azria is French?

    • Haha yes, the car was huge but we did need the boot space for luggage (mostly Lani’s shoes and my hair products, I have to say!). I did not know Mr Azria was French but I perhaps should have known. I really like the recent collection because of the different elements he combined so well. I have only shopped here since arriving in the US, I wonder if they have UK stores too….

  8. BCBG is a funny one. I never liked it that much on a whole but there always seems to be one dress that I love and end up buying. Weird.


    http://verenahafner.wordpress.com

  9. Cherie says:

    BCBG Black Logo Jacket Size S Under $25 on Ebay. Username ReeRee_03

Leave a Reply

