Red Hot

Today I resume blogging after a wonderful two week holiday, a road trip around Nevada, Arizona and California.  One of the highlights of the trip for me was seeing the vast and hostile desert landscapes, especially along the drive from Las Vegas to Death Valley National Park. The views along this part of the trip were highly memorable – you just don’t get this kind of scenery in England…

Despite the heat (it was over 100 degrees in Death Valley!) there was always time for a little ‘posing’.  Here I’m wearing my new red jersey skirt from Anthropologie at Chelsea Market in NYC, I bought it specifically for the trip but with a mindset of “vive le rouge!!” for Autumn/Winter.  I wore it countless times (you’ll see it here again!) and it is looking like a great investment piece.

Wearing: Skirt from Anthropologie: (sadly I cannot find my version online – for close alternatives check out this unfettered red maxi and lengthening rays skirt.)  Top from Reiss.

I have lots of pictures and outfits to post over the coming weeks – it was nice to take a break from working and blogging and thank you to all who Tweeted with me during my road trip.  It’s also nice to be back…. xo

This entry was posted in Anthropologie, Holiday, Holidays, Reiss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Red Hot

  1. samreen says:

    wow!!! You look stunning! I want that skirt! x

  2. lissy says:

    Welcome back, you were missed! You look fantastic in that skirt and you know I love the red! Looking forward to seeing more photos from your journey.

  3. RosaLovesDC says:

    Oh that skirt is gorgeous on you!

  4. Cee says:

    I hope you had an absolutely wonderful trip, two weeks of holiday in 100 degree weather sounds blissful and you look like a lovely desert rose in that red maxi 🙂
    xox,
    Cee

  5. Aggie says:

    I love that skirt, and also the fact that you wore red to the desert! If that doesn’t scream for attention then I don’t know what will 😉

  6. Michelle says:

    Thats such a great shot of you in the distance love how your skirt pops out in the desert! Great outfit as always you look amazing. PS Glad you had a great holiday.

  7. CinZilicious says:

    Likes like you had a wicked time!! I agree, you just don’t get to see that kinda scenery in England. But i still admire the beauty of England,hehe. 100 degrees?! No wonder it’s called Death Valley – probably die of a heat stroke,lol

    I love your look here, your red dress looks sooo simple yet it does wonders. Or maybe you just have a bloody good figure! lol =D

    Looking forward to your next outfit post!

    Cinz
    http://cinzee.wordpress.com

  8. CinZilicious says:

    Looks*

  9. Welcome back! The dessert is impressive, right? From what I gathered on Twitter I took a very similar trip a few years ago.

    http://verenahafner.wordpress.com

  10. STYLE'N says:

    wow you look absolutely fabulous in red and black. And sounds like such a fun break and vacation!

  11. Marie says:

    I’ve missed you! Glad you’re starting posting again with a BANG! You look drop dead gorgeous lady 🙂 I love red on you!

    Hope your road trippin was fun – were you able to check out San Francisco?

    Dirty Pink Cardigan

    😀

  12. STUNNING PICS! The first one is really glam!!
    Can’t wait to see the other photos of your trip 😉

    xoxo
    http://psclausen.wordpress.com

  13. Molliee says:

    welcome back!!! I am so sad we couldn’t meet up! You look fab in this anthro skirt:)

  14. Lovely pics – The black top and red skirt work really well together. I really like the first picture because the red skirt in the centre of the frame just pulls your eye in as the main point of focus. .
    cool.. well actually, hot !

    • You know I always worry about black and red together because I don’t want to end up like a Buckingham Palace guard or a postbox. I’m sure you know what I mean coming from the UK :-)) Thanks for your comment! xo

  15. I live for road trips! And this outfit is everything a summer outfit should be. I want that Reiss top!

    xo,
    Erika

  16. Glad to have you back. I’m sure you blazed a fashionable trail through the country! I think we have the same skirt my dear- remember the pink number from IFB? Seriously, goes with everything!! And I am still searching for a bustier type number. Keep me posted when you find one for me;)

    • Lani you did indeed provide a little inspiration for this outfit. I tried on your same skirt but in a green colour, in the end I wanted a more jersey material so opted for this red one. I will keep my eyes out for the bustier, I feel lingerie shops might be the way to go…. will look around!

  17. you look absolutely STUNNING!! i love the red skirt w. the simple black bandeau top ~ and these photos = gorgeous!!
    p.s. welcome back!!
    xo ~ kristina

  18. Oh my gosh, I’m LOVING your red skirt! So gorgeous .. the photo of you walking away in your red skirt is dreamy! Welcome back home … so glad to have you back darling! xoxo

    Sandy at Ooh La Frou Frou
    http://oohlafroufrou.blogspot.com
    This Week: Aimee’s Grande Paris Adventure Part II “Charmed I’m Sure”

  19. carly says:

    NOT FAIR how good you look in a midriff shirt..
    Looking fabulous in the desert girl.
    Missed you on your trip…you were mia for a bit…THANK YOU for wishing me a happy bday…
    hope you are back safe and sound:)
    C

  20. Krissy says:

    great, simple outfit! hope you had a blast on your trip! i love the picture of you in the desert in a distance!!

    follow each other?
    krissykreates.blogspot.com

  21. So happy to see you back to blogging! I can not tell you how obsessed I am with this look, you look beyond stunning. You have this ability of making crop tops look chic where so many others fail.
    xx
    Jessica
    http://westmountfashionista.com

  22. Pingback: StyleOnTheCouch Loves: Result Wear | StyleOnTheCouch

  23. I LOVE the red skirt in the desert! Those photos of you are incredible!!! And the trip looks like it was a blast! I think you’ve explored more nooks & crannies of the U.S. than a lot of your readers have!

  24. Miss Fig says:

    Piping in to say that this is the Havana Fresca skirt that recently went on sale at Anthro. Absolutely gorgeous on you.

  25. Pingback: StyleOnTheCouch Travels: Death Valley | StyleOnTheCouch

  26. I love that skirt, and also the fact that you wore red to the desert! !

Leave a Reply

