StyleOnTheCouch Loves: Beth Richards Swimwear

Back at the Capsule womenswear show in New York City in September, I came across Beth Richards, a Canadian swimwear label whose designs are modern and well crafted.  Beth began her label when she was unable to find swimwear that reflected her style, which reminds me of another designer I featured on the blog, MICHI, who did the same with work-out clothing.

I adore the simplicity of the Beth Richards collection, with names like ‘Bardot‘ and ‘Brigitte‘ emphasising their classic appeal.  I have a total girl-crush on the model they used in their editorial images too – she’s so perfect for the swimwear and shows that sexy isn’t necessarily about wearing less or showing a lot of flesh.  The designs are both appealing and practical

I asked Beth to tell me a little about herself and the inspiration behind her collection:

Describe yourself, in no more than three words. 
Down to Earth
Starting your own line is a brave venture – how did you make the decision to enter into swimwear design?
It was a really selfish thought. I couldn’t find anything I liked in the marketplace, so I decided to take matters into my own hands and developed something I thought was really unique and flattering.  I think the idea of what is considered sexy, especially for women, is quite different than what most would think.  Many women were excited about the amount of coverage. Less isn’t always more.

Why swimwear?
Because everybody loves the sunshine!  I am a water baby at heart and love beach culture.
I really wanted to approach swim differently with more of a fashion aesthetic and bridge function. For instance my fabrics are from Italy from a performance leader in knits and have many technical features.  But most importantly, if I can empower one more woman on the beach or at the pool, I have done my job!
What was the inspiration for the SS12 collection?
As you can tell by some of the names, the “Bardot” and “Audrey” my inspiration was really about Icons.  I love Brigitte Bardot and her free spirit, ballerina, actress, muse. Even down to the cross, which is also a classic icon.
Images from Beth Richards
Who has had the most influence on your design career?
Mrs. Miller!! She was my fashion arts teacher in grade 10 (programs like that don’t exist any more) and she was amazing!  I have been in touch throughout my career… she was like another mom, nurturing the creative soul and gave me the tools to follow my dream.
Otherwise I would say my family and friends.  I am lucky to have some amazing people in my life that inspire me on a daily basis.
Tell me a secret…
Hmmm I don’t keep too many! Let’s see, I snore really loudly, does that count?

I think that counts!  Thank you Beth!  To see a list of stockists for this unique label then click here.  For general inquires email info@bethrichards.com

This entry was posted in Beth Richards, Fashion, Style, Swimwear and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to StyleOnTheCouch Loves: Beth Richards Swimwear

  1. Cee says:

    Thank-you so much for introducing me to the wonder of Beth Richards. As I said in my tweet, I compulsively avoid swimwear, and that’s mainly because it makes me feel exposed… And the few suits that don’t make me feel exposed make me look dowdy! Reading Beth’s take on swimwear was heartwarming- I now know I’m not alone in wanting more coverage from my swimwear 🙂 And I just love the designs, particularly the last one. I have a trip to Mexico coming up next year and I think you may just see me sporting that very suit while I’m there 🙂
    xox,
    Cee

    • You’re most definitely not alone. I think that these designs are still wonderfully appealing as well as giving more coverage, which is win win in my opinion. I hope you can track her down in Vancouver, Cee!

  2. Wonderful photos, I love your post

  3. Molliee says:

    I really do love that she took a fuller coverage approach – you don’t see that too much now and it is stunning!

  4. This is a great swimwear collection, I love the names and the inspiration behind the line. Agree the model is perfect!

  5. Dempeaux says:

    Wow, love this line! Feminine, but a little more covered up than your average bathers. Great find!

  6. RosaLovesDC says:

    Thank you so much for Isis post. I avoid swimwear like you have no idea, I am no young lady anymore but these designs make me want to put on a swimsuit and go to a beach!

  7. RosaLovesDC says:

    Oops, I meant this post. Darn iPad!

  8. I totally did not see Beth Richards at Capsule but I should have. Really great pieces. I absolutely understand what she means, I’ve never seen swimwear like hers anywhere else. I’m sure it’s a big hit! (Or will be soon.)


    http://verenahafner.wordpress.com

    • I think you may still have been browsing the lovely Tomm Gunn shoes at this point :-)) Didn’t we see such amazing stuff at Capsule Verena, I can’t wait to go again next year, hope we can go together.

Leave a Reply

