Green with….

The weekend was a rather relaxed affair – Friday night I saw My Week With Marilyn at the cinema (it was an excellent portrayal of Monroe by Michelle Williams) and on Saturday I saw the exhibition of Elizabeth Taylor’s jewels and clothes at Christies and finally took a glimpse of the massive sparkling Christmas tree at the Rockefeller Centre here in NYC.

Sunday was for pilates, brunching and blogging.  I wore one of my birthday gifts, this maxi skirt from Reiss (sadly no longer available but check out the Danielle maxi and Jessica pleat maxi as close alternatives. The Jessica skirt is the same style as the green skirt I’m wearing here, with the lace effect print of the dress in my last post – howzat Blog Reader!).

It is a beautiful pleated skirt, a bold green colour unlike anything I have in my wardrobe that perfectly feeds my addiction for maxi lengths this winter.  Being a new colour for me, I found it quite difficult to know what to pair it with (any suggestions welcome in the comments below, Blog Reader!) but I wore it with my white tee from Eighteenth and my Izabela shoes from Nine West (I’m not usually a fan of the mid-heel, but this seemed a good choice for a casually chic brunch.)

It still feels quite mild for this time of year* but I threw on my chunky Reiss cardigan too.  French Connection gave me a pop of colour with my (gym) bag.  I love Sundays in Manhattan….

Wearing: skirt and cardigan from Reiss, shoes from Nine West, tee from Eighteenth and bag from French Connection (old season).

*One year ago I came to NYC to hunt for an apartment.   I froze my socks of traipsing around the city in the freezing cold but I did manage to find the perfect East Village flat….
This entry was posted in Bags, Eighteenth, Fashion, French Connection, Nine West, Reiss, skirt, Style and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Green with….

  1. Anastasia says:

    I love the colour of your skirt and your fabulous bag. I’m following you, if you like my blog please follow me back 🙂
    xxxx

  2. Mymy says:

    Great outfit! Love how u wear this maxi green dress with the maxi yellow bag, this look makes me happy 🙂

    http://www.mymymode.com/

  3. I love your skirt, best colour ever!

  4. Love that green on you.

  5. ppfgirl says:

    This is beautiful – love the pleats & that color is fantastic…want to steal this one from you!! 🙂

  6. Love the splash of green and yellow here! Hope you enjoyed My Week with Marilyn!

  7. Sounds like a great weekend. I’m looking forward to the Marilyn movie myself.

    This skirt is such a beautiful color and I like it with the white. You could probably wear it with almost any color if its the right shade. I’d probably pair it with a v-neck top (b/c the skirt doesn’t show any leg so I’d show some boob or neck lol), a flashy belt (to balance the volume of the skirt), and a short necklace that contrasts everything and bring attention to my face. You look long and lean, but I’m short so I’d wear a bomber jacket to lengthen my legs and show off my waistline. 🙂 That bag is great! I love the color combo of yellow and emerald green. Now I seriously want a maxi skirt!

  8. carly says:

    GIRL! That maxi is just a dream- love the pleats and dynamic color…easily wearable now and in the spring as well.
    And the yellow bag..genius- wish it were still available, sigh.
    C

  9. This makes me wish I could pull of the colour green ):

  10. would have loved seen the exhibition myself, must have been amazing seeing all those glamorous jewelry of hers! she was such and icon and beautiful woman, from little girl already she was just stunning ..

    now, you look so lovely it that green maxi skirt …. just love the way you combined with mix of colors! xoxo

  11. nicole says:

    loving the ‘pop of colour’ by french connection! oh la la!

  12. Amy Aliazzo says:

    That skirt is soooo pretty! BTW, I love your makeup too…so natural!

    Amy
    http://www.theglamouraddict.blogspot.com

  13. Amy Aliazzo says:

    That skirt is sooooo pretty…BTW, I love your makeup too…so natural!

    Amy
    http://www.theglamouraddict.blogspot.com

  14. RosaLovesDC says:

    So jealous of your weekend. I want to see My Week With Marilyn so bad.

  15. Cee says:

    An outfit with bold green and bright yellow is such a departure from your usual monochromatic ensembles, but it’s fun to change things up once in a while. I think you did a beautiful job, and still stayed true to your own elegant style. I just adore your skirt- pleats work like a charm every time in my book 🙂
    xox,
    Cee

  16. lissy says:

    Oh yes, I do love the color of the skirt and you wear it so well. It certainly looks great with a white tee. As it gets colder, you could wear it with a black cashmere turtleneck or sweater of some sort. I so want to see the Marilyn movie…must add that to my list of things to do.

  17. gracefully50 says:

    Great color on you! Beautiful as always!

  18. CinZilicious says:

    Your weekend sounds super chillaxing! Oh yeah, i read about Michelle Williams doing a portrayal as Marilyn Monroe. I’m not even sure if its out in the cinemas in HK yet! lol…it’s been ages since i went to the cinema!!!

    I loveeee your green maxi skirt!!! i thought of 2 looks for this skirt if you care to listen=)

    1. Pair it with a black tee not tucked in and put a thin brown belt around your waist to accentuate your waist, along with some sexy black stilettos!!!
    OR
    2. Pair it with a black tee tucked in and a long golden necklace, along with some gold wedges

    HAHAHAHA….that’s just what i think…not sure if it’s called stylish or what! lol

    Cinz
    http://cinzee.wordpress.com

  19. Toni Yvonne says:

    The green is beautiful on you and I love that bag!!
    I also love the previous post, that dress is simply stunning!

    I want to see the Marilyn Movie, I cant wait for it to come out here!!

    x

  20. Kasia Dietz says:

    What a lovely weekend! I adore the green with the yellow, you pulled off the colors very well! And yes, Sundays in NYC are unlike anywhere else in the world, enjoy!

  21. Molliee says:

    such a pretty outfit! I love the skirt with the long sweater!

  22. LittleRus says:

    Sounds very exciting, but then New York always feels like a place full of discovering and adventures. Loving your skirt – it looks beautiful on you. x

  23. Love how you wore the skirt and its a great colour. I would love a Sunday in Manhattan but hopefully this time next year!

  24. Kimberlee says:

    I am green with envy! SO jealous of your weekend too – I’m dying to see my weekend with Marilyn!

  25. City Soles says:

    Love the maxi skirt!

    Shop Chicago flats at CITY SOLES in Wicker Park!

    Visit us online for European designer shoes and boots for men and women!

  26. What a lovely color on you, it really suits you wonderfully! Sounds like a great weekend, especially the trip to Christies!
    xx
    Jessica
    http://westmountfashionisa.com

  27. Adrianna says:

    wow that color is stunning! thanks for sharing 🙂

    http://www.theadornation.wordpress.com

  28. madebymessak says:

    Lovely outfit!

  29. Pingback: Favorite: Reiss Maxi Skirt | GrechensCloset Shopping blog

Leave a Reply

