Sarah Burton for McQueen Spring 2012

I was thinking about a woman as an object of desire. We go to such lengths to adorn ourselves that we almost become our clothes or are taken over by them. This is a collection about excess – an exploration of ideals of beauty at their most extreme ~ Sarah Burton

The lovely Fash n Chips (one of my favourite reads) recently featured these behind the scenes photos of Sarah Burton’s Spring 2012 collection for McQueen on her blog.  I’ve been thinking about them all week and wanted to share them with you all here.

I think my recent purchase of this All Saints dress was a little inspired by the gothic beauty of McQueen.

Style.com wrote of this collection:

“She [Sarah Burton] based her collection on the three Gs: Grès for the pleating and draping, Gaudí for the architecture, and Gaia for the sense of all-encompassing oceanic life that infused the clothes, like the outfits composed of coral or shells. Or the incredible engineered matelassé jacquard in a barnacle pattern. Or the silk chiffon in an oyster print, which had been layered, cut into circles, and ribbed (though that hardly even begins to explain the complexity of the result).  And if you carried the analogy still further, the black leather appliqué that infected a lace dress could be an oil slick; the Fortuny-pleated organza woven with copper, silver, and gold was like a pirate’s buried treasure.”

Beauty, drama and fashion. It is really how I would like to get dressed every single day….

Photos: Fash N Chips blog / Vogue

This entry was posted in Fashion, Fashion Show, McQueen, Sarah Burton, Style and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Sarah Burton for McQueen Spring 2012

  1. Cam says:

    oh, my how gorgeous are these dresses and headpieces.. the models look like fairies! xoxo

    • Very. I really fell in love with these designs – I find her so inspirational in how she is developing her own work at McQueen and I get super excited about the collections each fashion week. Thanks for stopping by Cam x

  2. this collection takes my breath away!

  3. Molliee says:

    dreamy costumes! Such amazing artwork!

  4. Style Positively says:

    I love this! The headpieces and the dresses are beautiful! Thank you for sharing.

  5. akiko says:

    This is such a gorgeous and inspiring collection..! Thank you for sharing 🙂 xo akiko
    Style Imported

  6. AMAZING!! I absolutely love her designs, very inspiring indeed!

  7. Wow! What an interesting concept, really got me thinking… and then the designs! So much intricate work and detail. Gorgeous.

    xo
    Rachel

  8. Cee says:

    These designs are almost unbearably stunning. There’s something very ballerina-like about the puffy tutu skirts that immediately drew me in, and the headpieces, although oddly like synchronised swim caps are somehow still appealing. I don’t know where I’d wear one, but that doesn’t stop me wishing that there was one hanging in my closet!
    xox,
    Cee

  9. Dempeaux says:

    I always admire the cut and texture of McQueen. Stunning.

  10. Kimberlee says:

    Wow… amazing! She’s doing great things for the McQueen label 🙂

  11. timarobert says:

    That’s why we love Sarah Burton !
    It’s a wonderful collection

  12. i’m viewing the godfather at this very moment, and al pacino’s first wife’s beautiful dress, layered in feathery-like tiers, reminds me so much of an early version of this collection! just had to pop back and tell you that! 🙂 x

    • I love that you popped back to tell me this!! I would love to watch that film again actually, could be my Sunday movie next week?! About 24 Hour Catwalk – if you love reality shows it’s your thing. I think it needs a little warming up but I really loved Alexa’s style and sense of humour (could be me being a Brit though hmmm)

  13. Lorien says:

    Sarah Burton doesn’t disappoint does she? I was in London just before Christmas, and I was walking along Bond St. The McQueen window simply took my breath away – have you seen it? If not you must – there are plenty of photos, and blog entries on it online however it was quite a sight to take it in in person. x

Leave a Reply

