StyleOnTheCouch Loves: 24 Hour Catwalk

US Blog Readers – this week, on Tuesday 10th January, 10pm ET, the series 24 Hour Catwalk will premiere on Lifetime. I’m not usually one for reality TV shows but give me some fashion and throw Alexa Chung into the mix and I’m there watching.  I have a huge girl crush on my fellow Brit who is also now firmly transplanted in New York City (other Brits will recall Pop World, Frock Me and Fashion Fix) and in the preview tape I saw, Alexa’s many outfit changes alone make the show worth watching.

The premise of the show is this: 24 Hour Catwalk gives four designers the chance to compete to create a capsule collection in just one day.

After a first cut challenge and elimination that tests their innovation and aesthetic, the competition whittles down to two, each then tasked with creating a themed collection for their own runway show. With help of 24 Hour Catwalk’s talented and opinionated sewing team (the funniest remarks in the episode I saw were made by the pattern cutters who most accurately summed up the contestants failings), contestants must prepare and showcase their three-piece collection to the program’s judges: designer Cynthia Rowley, New York Times author and fashion editor Derek Blasberg and publicist James LaForce.

In the preview I found each judge to be fairly even handed with both advice and constructive criticism.  I hope it remains that the judges do not become caricatures, yet I have the feeling that Ms Chung’s sparky as well as graceful manner will be one of the highlights of the show.  Her British humour and fantastic use of irony and understatement (often lost on those around her, as is also my experience New York), is something to watch for.

Another thing I like about the show is that each episode is a competition in itself.  Rather than tracking the designers long term, which I feel can give rise to inauthentic portrayals to keep things interesting (although I am sure all shows like this are cleverly edited) I love that each week sets a fresh challenge.

Photo credits: David Russell / Lifetime.

And I love seeing Alexa’s outfits.  Did I mention that already?

Hope you had a great weekend, Blog Reader!

This entry was posted in 24 Hour Catwalk, Alexa Chung and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to StyleOnTheCouch Loves: 24 Hour Catwalk

  1. well, i intended to cancel my cable tomorrow, but i shall wait until wednesday if this show isn’t fabulous. if it is fabulous, then i’ll hold off on the cancellation. ellen and the fashion reality show will justify the cost, right? haha! 😉 x

  2. RosaLovesDC says:

    I LOVE Alexa! I’m a fan of these fashion shows, Project runway is my favorite. I try to ignore the drama and focus on the clothes and he creative process. Can’t wait!

  3. Cee says:

    Pity we don’t have cable, I’ll be missing out on all of Alexa’s outfits! I just adore that galatic-print dress 🙂 Maybe they’ll air it on NetFlix when the season ends and I can catch up then!
    xox,
    Cee

  4. icklebabe says:

    Oh show sounds fab! hope we get it over here..im sharing the Chung crush, she is just so perfectly un-perfect… if u get what i mean? she hangs out in Hipsteresque Williamsburg doesn’t she? maybe you should go Chung spotting 😉 X

  5. jkneilson65 says:

    Sounds like a high pressure show! Really like Alexa’s outfits here, wonderful, big screen grabs, certainly worth a look. So, basically it’s Iron Chef for fashion designers? Or is that oversimplifying it 😉

  6. Pia says:

    I’m not a fan of reality shows either but Alexa makes it worthwhile!

  7. Molliee says:

    I love Alexa Chung so I might have to watch! xoxo

  8. akiko says:

    I wanted to watch the show ever since I saw a commercial, but didn’t know it’ll be tomorrow! Thank you for sharing and I’d love to see the show 🙂 xo akiko
    Style Imported

  9. Toni Yvonne says:

    Oh I love Alexa, though sadly Im not in the US so not sure how I can watch this one!!
    Love those outfits and my, what amazing legs she has!!

    xx

  10. May says:

    Oooo….very interesting! I wonder if it will make it over to British telly too…..Alexa Chung is just so chic! Hope you had a good Christmas and New Years! 🙂
    Thanks for your sweet comment on my blog…..I just love the Christmas festivities and it was a good Christmas indeed! Love your blog by the way and you look absolutely beautiful in that Aqua dress.
    May xx
    walkinginmay.blogspot.com

  11. CinZilicious says:

    Oh yes, our dear Alexa Chung, i’ve seen her around a lot for the past year or so. There is something really alluring about her, she has this charisma, don’t you think? Do you know if she is half Chinese or something? I always have wondered about that as her surname sounds really Chinese.

    Btw, i love that dress with the galaxy outer space design that she’s wearing!!! She practically pulls off any look, i tell ya!

    Cinz
    http://cinzee.wordpress.com

  12. Ritournelle says:

    Ooooh I remember seeing the trailer for this show at the Indian party we went to! 🙂

Leave a Reply

