StyleOnTheCouch Travels: Yosemite

Yosemite park is situated across almost 1,200 miles of mountainous terrain in the Sierra Nevada.  It offered me breathtaking views and some of the bluest skies I have ever seen.  I visited Yosemite back in September during my west coast road trip and although I only stayed one night I was totally captivated by the scenery.

Above: Yosemite falls.  Below: cliffs from the valley floor.

Below: a stop on the valley floor tour of the park.

Below: Half dome – had I stayed longer I would have liked to hike up to half dome, one of the youngest rocks in the park and probably one of the most well recognised.  This granite structure looks amazing in the sunset and can be seen from many locations within Yosemite.

Below: the imposing vertical cliff face of El Capitan.  Around 3,000 feet from base to summit, this rock is a favourite challenge for experienced rock climbers.  Apparently some (read: crazy) souls have base jumped from El Capitan – Yosemite now bans this practice.

There are several places to stay at Yosemite, including Yosemite Lodge (my home for the night), Curry Village cabins and tents and the more luxurious Ahwahnee Hotel.  Wherever you stay though you are unlikely to be inside for long – there is just too much to explore, see and do at Yosemite – a magical place to visit.

This entry was posted in California, Fashion, Holiday, Holidays, Style, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to StyleOnTheCouch Travels: Yosemite

  1. iamnotshe says:

    OH, i’m SO GOING!!!!!!!!!!!! There’s nothing around Yosemite! You have to go with the intension of going to Yosemite and staying there! Cannot wait to go: Thanks for sharing!

  2. CinZilicious says:

    These photos takes my breath awayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy……

    and what? jumped off that cliff???????? they must be purely mad!!! lol..ah well, the passion that cries out from those devoted rocker climbers eh? I guess i can relate a tiny bit (very tiny), lol

    Cinz
    http://cinzee.wordpress.com

  3. wow, looks stunning .. such an amazing scenery.. must have been a great experience! x

  4. kristina says:

    these photos are just gorgeous! they remind me of my childhood growing up in CA! happy tuesday to you 😉 😉
    xx, k

  5. Molliee says:

    I’ve never been there, but would love to go! What stunning photos!

  6. LittleRus says:

    It’s like a scene from a movie!!! I’ve been staring at these photos for a while before I could get back to reality. x

    • If you ever get a chance to explore the US I really would recommend a visit for the breathtaking scenery. The fact that you can only take cars so far in the park too helps. The other transport is great and means things are keep natural. Thank you for stopping by!

  7. gorgeous. “a magical place to visit,” indeed!
    just made reservations for my 30th birthday, new york style. that is my magical place, and i love that you live and breathe it everyday. i plan to be there everyday, too, very soon! xxx

  8. Wow what amazing pictures and such beautiful scenery.

  9. Catherine says:

    looks amazing x

  10. Cee says:

    Nature and I have never been the best of friends… Particularly summery nature that involves bugs. But I have to say, Yosemite looks absolutely breathtaking. There really is so much of this world to see… What a shame we can’t all find work as professional explorers!
    xox,
    Cee

  11. Ted says:

    Check out http://www.campingsierra.com for more info on Yosemite

  12. RosaLovesDC says:

    These photos are amazing. I can’t wait to see where you travel in 2012.

  13. I’ve never been but SO GORGEOUS! Would love to go sometime! Hope your new year has started off as FABULOUS!

    Sandy at Ooh La Frou Frou
    http://oohlafroufrou.blogspot.com

  14. Yosemite really is SO beautiful! The Hubs and I went with another couple for Christmas one year for a snowboarding trip! Talk about your winter wonderland! Every tree in the park was covered with a beautiful layer of fluffy snow! It was so pretty!

  15. emma says:

    stunning! simple stunning! em x

  16. Milla says:

    National Geographical worthy images – amazing!!

  17. Cinnamin says:

    I went to Yosemite as a kid! It was really beautiful. I ought to dig up some of those old photographs and scan them.

  18. lissy says:

    All I have to say is wow wow wow. Those views are truly breathtaking!

  19. Ritournelle says:

    I remember seeing these pictures on your Tumblr and being blown away by how majestic these landscapes are.

Leave a Reply

