Stripes and Sparkle for the Sea…

Stripes – last summer we saw a lot of this on the catwalk; wide bands of orange, blue and red at Prada, billowing striped maxi dresses at Jil Sander and fruity striped jumpsuits at Marc Jacobs.  Without a doubt last year stripes were bold.  This spring, stripes give way to florals, but stripes remain a perennial fashion favourite for me – a pattern with lasting charm.  Floral is cute, stripes can be a little more edgy:

Besides, I’ve been experiencing mixed feelings about the ‘prettiness’ of the current spring fashions anyway.  I like to dare myself to be different but the florals we are presented with this summer are now feeling a bit too pristine and glossy for me.  As you can tell, Blog Reader, I’m having a few doubts this weekend about where florals will ultimately sit in my wardrobe… (for a great discussion on this read the excellent and thought-provoking article by Daphne Merkin in Elle about spring’s ‘new prettiness’).

So, I’m taking a trip to Turkey in May and thoughts are already turning to my holiday wardrobe.  I spied this split stripes maxi dress in Anthropologie and thought it was the perfect item for my travels.  Anthropologie have some lovely items in store right now and most of them make me think about holiday wear. I love this cute flared Akebono Halter Dress and these Kivi wedges by Leifsdottir are such a crazy unique style to make a statement in (although sadly I don’t think I’ll be trekking around the ruins of the Lycian Way in these).

There is something quite comforting about a dress you can roll up and pack, then unroll throw on and wear day-to-night… I’m thinking about this dress for long walks on the beach, lunch by the sea (my head is in Turkey already, my body is still in New York City, can you tell I’m missing Europe?!)

Photos: the fabulous Lydia Hudgens.

Taking any trips this year, Blog Reader? What else do I need for the perfect summer holiday wardrobe? Also, your thoughts on stripes?

Wearing: Striped dress from Anthropologie; boyfriend jacket from ASOS; Izabela suede pumps from Nine West; diamond pendant necklace from Anjolee.
This entry was posted in Anthropologie, ASOS, Capsule, Dress, Fashion, maxi, maxi dress, Nine West, Stripes, Style and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Stripes and Sparkle for the Sea…

  1. Olivia says:

    Fantastic! I agree – I love stripes for any season… I am intrigued to start trying the florals, but I don’t think pastels are for me. I’d probably go for a more edgy black and white floral print.

  2. Hey there, loving those stripes. And bright colours are definitely going to be I this season. So why not mix those stripes with bright colours and make a statement.

  3. you make an adorable sailor girl! love!

  4. I agree with Nicole! You look beautiful in that dress, it’s so cute on you. I am a huge fan of stripes so I love this post. xoxo

  5. Cee says:

    I’ve always been a stripes girl – I’d pick them over florals any day of the week; there’s something about them that I find much more versatile and wearable than florals. But then again, I did just spend the past year experimenting with extremely feminine style, so this year I’m seeking some balance in my wardrobe. I’m very envious of your upcoming trip to Turkey, and I can picture this dress perfectly in the street markets in Istanbul. I can’t wait to see the photos!
    xox,
    Cee

  6. Winn says:

    I LOVE this Sarah. I usually go for the same color scheme, but a little nautical with blue and white stripes. This is a lovely look on you! I’ll have to try it with more red mixed in now. 🙂

  7. rosalovesdc says:

    I have to agree with you. While I see some florals I want to add to my wardrobe, I am still sort of addicted to stripes (evidence= just bought a new stripe jacket from J.Crew and ordered a stripe tee from Stylemint). BTW, that dress looks dreamy on you.

  8. Peaches says:

    I think you could rock florals and make it chic instead of full on too sweet & glossy! That stripey red dress looks amazing on you and so flowy too! Unfortunately I don’t have the height to pull such a stripey maxi off unless it’s vertical stripes 😀 I’m envious of your trip to Turkey! Greece & Morocco are on my wishlist for Summer but I can’t think of going on any holidays until I’m done with Bar school 😦 I hope to do well and not think of any resits (eek).

  9. Ulrika says:

    Hi sweetie,
    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    I love the stripes too ! I mean, floral patterns are sweet, but you rock the maxi dress ! 😀

    Kisses !

    /U
    pug-a-licious

  10. kristina says:

    i love stripes and your outfit looks so great!! i love the dress and how you’ve paired it w. the navy blazer, very nice!! you always embody the definition of elegance!!
    xoxo,
    k

  11. theaslife says:

    I really love stripes!:)

  12. dempeaux says:

    The red, white, and navy are very striking. Love! I really like Anthropologie, though I’m yet to purchase from them. I’ve heard their clothes are really good quality.

  13. Icklebabe says:

    Hi lovely! You look adoreable in stripes, very whimsical sailor girl. Love the addition of the boyfriend blazer too, it goes perfectly xxx

  14. Stripes always get a yes from me. Very beautifully styled with the navy blazer. x

  15. MYMYMODE says:

    This dress suits you very well ! You look so tall !:)
    your hair is gorgeous !

    http://www.mymymode.com

    • Thank you for the hair compliment! A good hair day is always a good day all round in my book. Do you think I look tall? I wonder if that is the effect of the stripes too….? xo

  16. I love the red stripes!! You look so pretty! I saw this really nice dress at boutique a few weeks ago it had blue stripes and a light brown belt. I should have bought it!

  17. ooothatsshiny says:

    you look great! love love love stripes!

  18. Wow this dress is gorgeous..I also love anthropology and stripes so good choice. You really suit this with your dark hair it looks really striking, maybe try some red floral’s.x.

  19. I do not even know the way I finished up right here, however I believed this publish was good. I do not know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger in case you aren’t already. Cheers!

  20. chroniclesofahighschooler says:

    I love that striped dress! It sounds like you’re pretty excited about Turkey-I know the feeling all too well of having your head in one place and your body in another! I hope you have an amazing trip 🙂

Leave a Reply

