Lady In Red: Joy Cioci

In my column for Lookbooks today I interviewed contemporary womenswear designer Joy Cioci, whose neon and leather Meagan dress you might have seen on the blog a couple of weeks ago.  Joy is a busy lady right now, preparing for New York Fashion Week in September and partnering with Fashion Fights Cancer.  I wore this dress, another of Cioci’s designs, full of beautiful layers of romantic chiffon and with a gorgeous cut out back detail, for Independence Day celebrations here in the US*.

Something about this dress is a little dangerous but also soft; a hint of romance mixed with a whiff of power.  In my recent interview with Joy she spoke of her collections telling the stories on her mind.  Although this dress is from a previous line, it is also in keeping with her theme for autumn winter 2012: ‘Seductive Survival‘ speaks a tale of feminine strength, instinct and animalistic urges…

I’m quite drawn to the sense of romance in Joy’s designs and this dress is a delight to wear. If you’re looking for a stand out dress with lots of impact then do take a look at her website.  Where do you usually turn for such clothing, Blog Reader?

I’m very excited to see what Joy brings us this September.

Wearing: Red dress by Joy Cioci.  Feelin’Good heels in sapphire suede, Nine West.
Photography by the wonderful Lydia Hudgens.

*Yes, I know I probably shouldn’t have been the one celebrating but still a party is a party, Blog Reader.

You can read my interview with Joy on Lookbooks here.

This entry was posted in Joy Cioci, Nine West, red and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Lady In Red: Joy Cioci

  1. kimberleevdw says:

    Gorgeous! Love the ruffles and the pop of blue in the heels 😉

  2. laniersmith says:

    It is asymmetrical fun time in the most astonishing party color. It takes a moment to take it all in but when you do it is so much fun. Almost like a flouncy puzzle for the eye. I bet it moves in the most wonderful way.

    • What a great comment! Yes it does indeed move in a very nice way. The layers are perfectly cut around the thighs for some lovely movement. Glad you like! Thanks for stopping by…

  3. natasha says:

    What a lovely dress!

    xo, tasha
    twenty-something blog

  4. Cee says:

    What a stunning dress – and the perfect choice for the 4th of July, even if it isn’t technically your holiday. A party is a party and any excuse to dress up is as good as the next, pariclarly if it encourages the pairing of a red dress with blue shoes 🙂 I absolutely love Joy’s designs, particularly the two you’ve showcased on your blog. When I’m looking for a power piece – which is a relatively rare thing,I must admit – I tend to go for menswear pieces. I’m sure that the psychologist in you will have something to say about that 😉
    xox,
    Cee

  5. LOVE this dress! and the blue pumps add just the perfect pop of color! such a beauty!

    xoxo, jenn
    the stylish housewife

  6. Beautiful dress in a great color! I would wear a dress like this to a gallery oppenings, which I attend very often.(maybe without the slit in the back- it may be a little much in my age).
    Take care
    Sara

  7. This is such an amazing dress – it reminded me of the phrase “the thousand layer dress” which Carrie from SATC wore (sadly only in the hotel).

    I know that the dresses have nothing in common look-wise (except for ultimate fabulousness) – but I am sure there is more than a thousand layers in this red beauty of yours as well!

    As per usual, amazing look.

    • Edita I remember that dress! (Who doesn’t?) what a stunning piece. Joy does a lovely longer version of this dress too, you might like that one. Edita I’m behind on my blog reading as I’ve been travelling a lot this month but will stop by again soon. Thanks for visiting me again! x

  8. I do love a ruffle and this dress is also a gorgeous colour. Love how you have teamed it with the blue shoes x

  9. soo pretty! this is totally romantic!

  10. Hi! This is my favorite summer color! It’s such a happy and stylish color! This dress is beautiful 🙂 I could see myself wearing it!
    Adri

  11. robecca says:

    Beautiful! Am clicking over to read the interview now… xxx
    http://www.haemeandrobecca.blogspot.com

  12. This is absolutely lovely!

  13. I enjoy reading your blog and have nominated you for the “One Lovely Blogger Award”. http://astimegoesbuy.me/2012/07/26/one-lovely-blogger-an-award/
    Thank you for being fabulous!
    Cheers,
    Laura

  14. olga says:

    As always – gorgeous! Such a beautiful dress, and color combo, bright coral with cobalt shoes – is captivating.

  15. Walkinrunout says:

    It’s gorgeous.
    Whish i could buy from US without paying tax….

  16. Great dress with your coloring! And I love the shoes!

    • Thank you leblogdemarie! I think the red shade works well with my skin tone, there are some colours I can’t wear because I am pale but this I love. Glad you liked the shoes, I tried nude at first then went back to the blue because I liked the colour too. x

  17. vunger13 says:

    Reblogged this on Victoria Unger and commented:
    The femininity of this dress is amazing. The ruffles and chiffon make the dress so soft and summery. I love the pop of color from the blue suede pumps!

  18. This is the epitome of Joy! Again and again and again, just knocking it out of the park.

  19. mpchouchou says:

    Just a stunning dress and thanks for the intro to the line- I am drooling over everything and can totally see all of it making a happy home in my closet.

  20. hoyt says:

    Absolutely stunning! Love this designer.

  21. Dempeaux says:

    Love it! I was actually looking at a vintage dress in this colour yesterday. It’s really lovely, and the frills are really well done. Not frou-frou at all.

  22. cloudoflace says:

    Wow! Amazing!! I just discovered a new designer thanks to you! 🙂
    & to answer your question, I turn to different designers, mostly locals, because I like unique pieces, I like to be the only one wearing this piece 🙂

    Hiba
    http://www.cloudoflace.com

  23. What a wonderful dress! And the shoes, they’re great and paired with the dress it’s just a fantstic look!

    http://www.indefinableflowerchild.wordpress.com

  24. lushlili says:

    Very gorgeous dress and the colour really pops! Love the ruffles. Great for summer!

Leave a Reply

