Alice Yim New York: Chiffon and Lace

Alice Yim remains one of my favourite New York designers.  She recently celebrated the two-year anniversary of her namesake label at a rooftop bar in Manhattan, a super stylish event (naturally!) and an opportunity for me to thank Alice for designing clothes that are fabulous to look at and that I feel wonderful wearing.

This outfit from Alice’s spring summer collection – the Sparrow skirt in sapphire blue and the Sierra top in onyx – is a delightful combination of sheer lace and floaty chiffon layers.  It’s an outfit I want to dance and sing in (evidenced by the photoshoot, yes Lydia Hudgens can probably confirm I was a little loopy this day…)

The Sierra top is a gorgeous off the shoulder lace design, falling just at the right place on the waist to go with high-rise styles (I wore it with some high-waisted skinny jeans and high heels too and loved the look).  The bustier underneath is an old style from Reiss – there is a challenge to find the perfect under garment for this top but I think lace/sheer is super glamorous when done right. Just remember that less is more Blog Reader, less is more.

Photos: The awesomeness that is Lydia Hudgens.

I have half an eye on this outfit for dancing in Charleston, where I am heading this weekend.  I wanted to ask – what do you wear to go dancing in, Blog Reader?

My trusty Zara basic sandals come out again to complete this outfit.

Stay tuned for a feature on Alice Yim’s autumn winter collection, coming soon.

Wearing: Zara sandals; Sparrow skirt and Sierra top from Alice Yim; Reiss bustier (just seen).

*May I suggest you browse some of my Friday Lingerie features for ideas, Blog Reader?

This entry was posted in Alice Yim, Alice Yim NY, Reiss, Sandals, Zara and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Alice Yim New York: Chiffon and Lace

  1. Meenakshi says:

    I love it! So flirty and fun! That blue is a really brilliant shade. I love how you showcase such a vast array of designers and brands on your blog.

  2. slender gold says:

    Great outfit. I love the use of blue and orange. The two colors really play off of each other and add a zing. Perfect for dancing. Have fun!

  3. kimberleevdw says:

    So awesome you got to meet her in person! Love seeing you have fun in your photos 🙂

  4. I really should have bought those shoes, even though I couldn’t walk in them! The whole outfit looks gorgeous x

  5. lacee says:

    love the length and shape of that skirt, so classic!

  6. Cee says:

    I have this problem where I often invent items of clothing I want that actually don’t exist. My most recent mental creation was a mid-length sapphire coloured skirt that I was sure I would never be able to find… And now you’re wearing it! This is fashion kismet at its finest, I think it proves that Alice Yim’s designs and I were meant to be together. The same can certainly be said for you; you wear them beautifully and I must admit, I quite enjoy the “loopiness” of these photos. You look like you’re having fun!
    xox,
    Cee

  7. polishfreak says:

    OMG…LOVE the shoes!! 🙂

  8. rosalovesdc says:

    OMG, this outfit is simple for so chic and just perfect for the summer weather. And those shoes, fabulous!

  9. you look so pretty…LOVE that last photo! i can’t remember the last time i went dancing! it’s funny though because i’ve been itching to go!

    xoxo, jenn
    the stylish housewife

  10. Emma says:

    Love your Zara heels, I have the black pair they have been a trusty staple all summer long. Comfortable enough to wear all day x

  11. hils says:

    such a lovely outfit:) i especially love the heels.
    http://owlonabraintree.wordpress.com

  12. Rachel says:

    I love these photos, you do fantastic outfit posts!

  13. wow, just love this look and first pose.. Say, did you do something new with your hair, did I didn’t get the memo or is it just me, haha! It looks different…amazing still of course! 😉 .. longer and with a few highlights! stunning .. xo

  14. Diana Marks says:

    you are very pretty! I like your blog!

    Please support my up and coming blog about life and fashion in Los Angeles by following it on Bloglovin 😉 I will follow back 😉

    LA By Diana Live Magazine

  15. Holy amazing shoe. LOVE. Too bad they are sold out. 😦

  16. lushlili says:

    I just love the colour of this skirt!

Leave a Reply

