I Have The Power: Preen Black Dress

Hello again, Blog Reader.  I’m back in Manhattan after a fabulous weekend away in Charleston South Carolina – a beautiful city that I would recommend to anyone looking for lots of Southern charm and character.  I had some great recommendations for dining in Charleston so if you want any then drop me an email using the ‘ask me anything’ email (top right).  I have a review of the wonderful Hampden Clothing boutique coming up soon, a  must-visit on a shopping trip in the city.

Back in Gotham I’m still trying to capture the romance of Charleston but combine it with a little New York attitude.  I’ve posted this dress before and I will likely feature it again I love it so much – the power dress by Preen, perfectly sharp but still feminine for a cutting edge little black dress:

Photos: Lydia Hudgens.

The strap detailing on this dress is my idea of perfection.  I love the structure, the hard and the soft (the different fabrics used) and the beautiful folds around the neckline.  A dress with powerful impact it most certainly is.  Apologies to those of you who read about the dress before but just to mention again I bought it from Liberty London department store back in the UK during a sale a good few years ago now* for a great price.  Liberty sales are amazing!  It was when I started to really buy quality over quantity and invest in pieces that would last, a philosophy that has stuck with me today.

I will certainly be watching what Preen bring us this season at the forthcoming London Fashion Week.

So, who is feeling powerful? What do you wear when you need a little power-pick-me-up?

P.S. I just noticed I got a little ‘black’ themed again Blog Reader.

Wearing: Dress by Preen; sandals from Mango; clutch from Debenhams, UK.

*Liberty no longer appear to stock Preen but you can browse styles here on Black White Denim, on Net a Porter, My Wardrobe and at discount sites such as The Outnet.

This entry was posted in Black Dress, Dress, Mango, Preen, Sandals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to I Have The Power: Preen Black Dress

  1. Cee says:

    This have been a little black-themed around here lately, but personally, I’m loving it. A good LBD (or several) is really indispensable to a woman’s wardrobe, but it often seems to me that designers coast a bit when it comes to black dresses because of that – most black dresses are so basic as to almost border on boring. But not this one! Trust Preen to never let a girl down 🙂 As fr powerful dressing, upon reflection I think I tend to rely mostly on shoes for that… Being petite, adding a little bit of height to my looks levels the proverbial playing field and makes me feel infinitely less like a munchkin 😉
    xox,
    Cee

    • I think my LBDs span from the classic and structured (mainly work) to this kind of unique style for a night out. I agree that some LBDs can be very boring and it is a challenge to re-work the dress every time – I think Preen struck gold with this design. I remember seeing it on Gwyneth Paltrow and thinking – I neeeeeed this in my wardrobe 🙂

  2. stylemefab says:

    Very classy and stylish, you look fantastic as always!

  3. So glad I’m not the only one loving black already, even though fall is still a month away (at least)! The details on this dress kept me staring at your photos forever – and the fit is just perfection on you!!

  4. natasha says:

    WOW! Love the back of that dress!

    xo, tasha
    twenty-something blog

  5. you must have the most amazing closet full of clothes. everything is so unique and just beautiful! as are you! LOVE this dress on you.

    xoxo, jenn
    the stylish housewife

    • Thanks Jenn – I was looking through my wardrobe last night actually thinking there are only a couple of key pieces I would like for Fall and I’d be a very happy bunny. I know that clothes are my ‘thing’, I buy them over and above anything, but I do have fun getting dressed and that’s the important thing. Look forward to seeing your INPINK giveaway, I got a piece from them recently too, lovely bracelet x

  6. walkinrunout says:

    wauw you look beautiful – i really love the back of the dress.
    I wear suits for power-look 🙂

  7. A divine combination of sex and class! Love!

  8. Simply smokin Sarah. Love the details on this dress.

  9. RosaLovesDC says:

    Simply beautiful! I just can’t get enough of this dress, the back is just stunning and your hair looks absolutely fabulous.

  10. Kimberlee says:

    Gorgeous! Definitely rocking the New Yorker black 😉

  11. You always look gorgeous ❤
    The black dress from Preen is so pretty on you.
    Have a fabulous time on London Fashion Week 🙂

    ♥ sugarpuff ♥
    Pinkie Anggia
    http://pinkieanggia.tumblr.com

  12. Crista says:

    wow. gorgeous dress!

  13. lushlili says:

    It’s a very stylish dress but still shows fun whilst being classy 🙂

    I like it!

  14. cinnaspring says:

    Black is the colour to go to on good and especially on bad days! It’s such a great colour and you look fabulous in that dress as usual! The strap detailing is beautiful, and that dress is hugging you in all the right places! 😀

  15. thelookes says:

    amazing dress and perfect look.

  16. olga says:

    You look stunning, it is not easy to wear this kind of dress, but you totaly rocked it!

  17. My power pieces are either a necklace made with big black beads or pieces with rich, warm, buttery cognac leather. This dress is so great on you! All my black dresses seem to have sleeves, but I think I like it that way.

  18. lorienme says:

    How many dresses do you have? Actually more relevantly how many black dresses?! But I love how each one is very different. Power dresses for a power woman – suits you.

    x

    http://www.lorien.me

  19. amazing dress! you look stunning =)

Leave a Reply

