London Fashion Week Series: 2. Sass & Bide

Geometric details, simple silhouettes and pure colours with splashes of gold and silver exploded down the runway of Sass & Bide at London Fashion Week this September.  Entitled ‘Loveshady’, the fresh simplicity of this SS13 collection delighted me.

A mix of masculine and feminine; trailing skirts and sharp shorts; an intertwining of soft romance (flowing chiffon) with sharp tailoring resulted in a ‘boy meets girl’ collection.

The brand’s signature embellishments were present but I felt the overall effect was more subtle than in previous seasons.  A palette of monochrome was interrupted here and there with soft peaches and striking tangerine shades.  Talking with my blogger friend Anna we felt the eye-catching crisp white and gold looks were the highlight of this collection (see image below:)

Metallics in the form of sequined skirts, Cleopatra-style gold belts and chokers and chunky silver details gave the collection a lot of oomph.  Sometimes it felt ‘too much’ –  I didn’t much care for the full length sparkling dress or maxi skirt, that’s a little too much bling for me.

What I did love were the slouchy, relaxed trousers (even the tangerine coloured ones!)  The soft feathered short dresses also won me over.

Some themes were included that have run throughout the spring summer 2013 fashion weeks  – harness details, racer necklines and slimline pants.

With a new e-boutique on their website, time for me to start saving for Sass & Bide!

This entry was posted in London Fashion Week, Sass & Bide and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to London Fashion Week Series: 2. Sass & Bide

  1. Loved this post. Very asteful and well written 🙂

  2. laniersmith says:

    I loved the orange and grey jacket… that is stunning. The gowns remind me of Halston in the 70’s… do you see what I mean?

  3. diditevercrossyourmind says:

    this collection looks great!! the first dress with the geometrical pieces is so cutting and chic at the same time, and i loved the metallic embellishments!! although i would agree that the choker in dress no 3 was a little too much, i mean, reduced to maybe a single row it would look perfect.. but this collection is definitely one of my favourites!!

  4. Bling Barbie says:

    Love it!! Edgy but classy

  5. fashionforlunch says:

    I love the second look. Sass and bide are so good!!!
    http://www.fashionforlunch.wordpress.com

  6. Boobieslifeandluster says:

    The orange trouser outfit and the white full length dress are complete wow factors. A great post with fantastic imagery, informative and entertaining. LA x

  7. Aggie says:

    The geometric cuts are amazing! :O

  8. Cee says:

    These designs are a far cry from what normally comes to mind when I think of Sass & Bide, but some of the tailoring looks just lovely. I’m not sure I can get on board with the tangerine trousers, mind you… but I would probably go for the glittery maxi that you didn’t 😉
    xox,
    Cee

  9. aideebrooke says:

    Love them! Especially the black dress!

  10. Dempeaux says:

    Although I own a pair of Sass & Bide jeans (which are amazing!) this is the first collection of theirs that I’ve liked. It’s still recognisably S&B but a little less…experimental? I think it’s easier to see the strength in their tailoring too 🙂

  11. cinnaspring says:

    Sass & Bide never fail to impress me with their creativeness! How gorgeous is that plunging black maxi dress??

  12. Pingback: Sass & Bide Accessories | StyleOnTheCouch

Leave a Reply

